Hamilton County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Hamilton County

Guide to Hamilton County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Hamilton County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1823
County Seat Noblesville
Courthouse
Address Hamilton County Courthouse
Public Square
Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone: 317.776.9629
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1833*
1882*
1825
1823
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 8 January, 1823 from Delaware New Purchase [1]
  • County Seat: Decatur [2]


Neighboring Counties

Clinton  • Tipton  • Madison  • Hancock  • Marion  • Boone


Hamilton CountyMarion CountyShelby CountyRush CountyBoone CountyTipton CountyClinton CountyHancock CountyMadison CountyHendricks CountyINHamilton.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • Arcadia Cemetery: located in northern Hamilton County at lat: 40.1752° lon: -86.0080°.
  • Baker Cemetery: 40° 07' 55.67" N 86° 08' 16.48" W
  • Boxley Cemetery: located in northwestern Hamilton County at lat: 40.1632° lon: -86.1768°.
  • Chester Friends Cemetery: 40° 04' 18"N 86° 07' 43.09"W
  • Cicero Cemetery: 40° 07' 53.90" N 86° 01' 42.12" W
  • Crownland Cemetery: located in Noblesville, Indiana at lat: 40.0529° lon: -86.0025°.
  • Crown View Cemetery: 40° 08' 37.87" N 86° 13' 49.07" W
  • Mt Pleasant '(Pettyjohn) 'Cemetery: 40° 07' 47.02" N 86° 06' 28.30" W
  • Pleasant Grove Cemetery: located at Broadway & 106th St - Home Place, Clay Twp, Hamilton Co, IN
  • Prairie Baptist Cemetery: located in eastern Hamilton County at lat: 40.0881° lon: -85.9051°.
  • Spicewood Cemetery: 40° 07' 58.01" N 86° 09' 59.05" W
  • West Grove Cemetery: 40° 06' 50.55" N 86° 06' 51.55" W

Transcriptions and other data:

BillionGraves:


LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 21 page 70 - Daubenspeck Cemetery


Online Resources

Online Grave Transcripts What is Available Cost
Findagrave.com 149 Cemeteries are listed and searchable Free

To create or manage a memorial, registration is required

Interment.net West Grove Cemetery

Deming, Hamilton, Indiana

All 317 graves have been recorded and indexed.

Free
USGenWeb

103 Cemeteries are listed.

Info about each cemetery is listed including where to find it.

Many cemeteries have listings available online.

Free
Billion Graves 52 Cemeteries are listed Free

To contribute to Billion Graves, registration is required


Published Grave Transcripts can be found at FamilySearch.org and in the Indiana Room at the East Hamilton County Public Library.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Hamilton County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • 1973).Portrait and biographical record of Madison and Hamilton counties, Indiana: containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the counties, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. (Evansville, Ind, Unigraphic, Inc. ) other libraries ;INTERNET ARCHIVE

Bevelhimer, Susan. Abstracts of the will records of Hamilton County, Indiana1824-1901. Owensboro, Ky. : Cook & McDowell, 1981. - Repository: HEPL 977.256 WILLS BEV LCCN: 02802310

Burgess, Joe H. Hamilton County and the Civil War. United States: 1968 - Repository: HEPL - Call# 977.256 Histroy BUR

Campbell, Frank S. The Story of Hamilton County Indiana. Noblesville, Indiana: Hudler Press, Inc, 1962.

Cline & McHaffie. The People's Guide: a business, political and religious directory of Hamilton Co., Ind. . . .Indianapolis, Ind: Indianapolis Printing and Pub House, 1874. - Repository: HEPL 977.256 Directory 1874 LCCN: 02827329

Correll, James L & Velma B. Hamilton County, Indiana, small cemeteries, Jackson Township. Kokomo, Indiana: Selby Pub & Printing, c1986.

Evans, Nellie E, compiler. Hamilton County Cemeteries, Vol 1. Sheridan, Indiana: Nellie E Evans, nd.

Haines, John F. History of Hamilton County, Indiana...... Indianapolis, Indiana: B. F. Bowen, 1915. Repository: Hamilton East Public Library Call#: 977.256 - LCCN: 02829814

Helm, T B. History of Hamilton County, Indiana, Reprint . Chicago, Evansville, IN: Kingman Brothers, Unigraphic, 1880, 1976.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Madison and Hamilton Counties, Indiana. Chicago Illinois: Biographical Publishing Co, 1893. - Repository: Anderson Public Library - Call# 977.2578

Shirts, Augustus Finch. A History of the Formation, Settlement and Development of Hamilton County, Indiana, from the year 1818 to the close of the Civil War. 1901. - Repository: Archive.org - www.archive.org/stream/historyofformati00shir#page/n9/mode/2up

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hamilton County


Civil War Book

  • "The Record of Hamilton County in the Civil War" in Shirts, Augustus Finch. A History of the Formation, Settlement and Development of Hamilton County, Indiana, From the Year 1818 to the Close of the Civil War. 1901. (page 305-368 has Regiment, Companies, Name's) 977.256 H2s FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other library Google books Internet Archive
  • Indiana Genealogical Society (Fort Wayne, Indiana, Indiana veterans enrollment list, Hamilton County, 1890 ([S.l.] : Indiana Genealogical Society, 2006 ) CD-ROM no. 4177 Computer US/CAN Desktop FHL Collection
  • Burgess, Joe H. 1968. Hamilton County and the Civil War.([S.l.: s.n.], 1967), 977.256 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other library
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Index from Newspapers in Noblesville Southeastern Public Library (in Hamilton County)
The Indiana Room has an Obituary File Index that indexes obituaries published in newspapers which they have on microfilm. This is kept current and as of Sep 2008 seems to be accessible only to patrons.

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Hamilton County, Indiana lies just to the north of Indianapolis. Two courthouses are located in the historic center of Noblesville. The older courthouse contains a variety of publicly available records.

Hamilton County Courthouse
Public Square
Noblesville, IN 46060
Phone: 317.776.9629

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divoce, probate and court records from 1833
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Hamilton County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth Records
  • WPA. Index to birth records, Hamilton County, Indiana, 1880-1920 inclusive. Indiana: WPA, 1941. 2 vol.
Marriage Records
  • WPA. Index to supplemental record, marriage transcript, Hamilton County, Indiana, 1880-1905. United States: Works Progress Administration, Indiana, 1941 - Repository: HEPL - Call# 977.256 MARRIAGE SUPPL LCCN: 02796658
  • Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
  • Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 - FamilySearch
  • Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959 - FamilySearch
Death Records
  • WPA. Index to death record, Hamilton County, Indiana, 1882-1920 inclusive. Indiana: WPA, 1942.
  • Woodard, Marian Cody, Copiler. Names in Hamilton County Death Notices: An Index to the Noblesville LedgerSept 11, 1874 to March 20, 1881. Noblesville, Indiana: Noblesville Public Library, 1978. - Repository: Hamilton East Public Library - 977.256 Deaths Woo
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Selected Deaths in Carmel, Hamilton County (1880s-1911) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 - FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hamilton County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hamilton County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hamilton_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hamilton County, Indiana 213 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 15,586 times.