Hamilton County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Tennessee
Hamilton County
Hamilton County, Tennessee genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Hamilton County (established 1819) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Hamilton County, Tennessee | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
| | |||||||
| Location in the state of Tennessee | |||||||
![]() Location of Tennessee in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded: | October 25, 1819 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Chattanooga | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| |||||||
Quick Dates
Hamilton County's civil records start the following years:[1]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1882* | 1857 | 1899* | 1830 | 1796 | 1862 |
.*City of Chattanooga (Hamilton County births begin 1908, Hamilton County deaths begin 1908)
County Courthouse
Hamilton County Courthouse
County Courthouse; Rm 201;
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 423.209.6500
County Clerk has marriage records from 1857.
County Health Department has birth records
from 1949 and death records from 1972.
Circuit Court and Clerk and Masters has divorce records.
Clerk and Masters has probate records from 1865.
Clerk and Masters and Register of Deeds has land records.
Register of Deeds has military discharge records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records. [2]
625 Georgia Ave., Room 201
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 1-423-209-6500
Hamilton County Clerk
Marriage records
625 Georgia Ave., Room 201
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 1-423-209-6500
Online Marriage search
Hamilton county Register of Deeds
Land records
400 Courthouse
625 Georgia Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 1-423-209-6560
Hamilton County Clerk and Master
Probate records
300 Courthouse
625 Georgia Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 1-423-209-6601
Hamilton County Circuit Court Clerk
Court records
500 Courthouse
625 Georgia Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone: 1-423-209-6701
Hamilton County Hours:
Mon.-Fri. 8 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
History
East Tennessee county. Established 1819.
The county is named after Founding Father Alexander Hamilton (c1755-1804).[3]
Parent County
1819--Hamilton County was created 25 October 1819 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Chattanooga[4]
County Pronunciation
- Hear it spoken[5] (female)
- Hear it spoken[6] (male)
Boundary Changes
For a boundary dispute between Tennessee and Georgia over the city of Chattanooga, see:
- Dick Eastman. "Part of Tennessee Belongs To Georgia?" Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter (2008/02/12).
"Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the My Tennessee Genealogy website. They rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Record Loss
1910 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Antebellum will books are lost.
- Lost censuses: 1820, 1890
- Lost marriages: 1819 to 1856
- Lost probate: 1819 to 1861
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| Alton Park | Coulterville | Lookout Mountain | Saint Elmo |
| Apison | East Ridge | Lupton City | Sale Creek |
| Bakewell | Flat Top | Mowbray | Shady Grove |
| Birchwood | Foust | Ooltewah | Signal Mountain |
| Boyce | Georgetown | Orchard Knob | Soddy-Daisy |
| Brainerd | Harrison | Rathburn | Tiftonia |
| Chattanooga | Hixson | Red Bank | Walden |
| Collegedale | Lakesite | Ridgeside | Walden's Ridge |
Neighboring Counties
- Bledsoe
- Bradley
- Catoosa County, Georgia
- Dade County, Georgia
- Marion
- Meigs
- Rhea
- Sequatchie
- Walker County, Georgia
- Whitfield County, Georgia
Resources
Getting Started
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Hamilton County African American, biography, cemetery, census, history, Indian, land, marriage, military, newspaper, probate, and tax records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Hamilton County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American
United States African Americans
Tennessee African Americans
Chattanooga African American Museum
200 E. Martin Luther King Boulevard
Chattanooga, TN 37403
(423) 266-8658
Businesses
Cemeteries
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
| Bibliographies | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | TNGenWeb Cemetery Database | |
| USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | ||
| Hamilton Co., TNGenWeb Project | ||
| Interment (Hamilton County) | ||
| Interment (Chattanooga) |
Published Hamilton County cemetery records:
List of Cemeteries and where they are located in Hamilton County:
Johnson Cemetery (Soddy Daisy)
Census
1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population censuses of Hamilton County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Hamilton County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1820 - Lost[7]
1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.
The following book is a useful aid for finding the original records. A free online index, provided by Lineages, which cites the original document numbers, will help researchers determine if this resource can be of assistance:
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. [Covers this county.]
These records have also been abstracted:
- 1820 Census of Manufactures: Hamilton County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 8, No. 4 ():247. For availability, see Periodicals.
1830
- Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.
- Douthat, James L. Early Settlers, Hamilton County, Tennessee: 1830-1850 Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 X2d. Free Lookups Available!
1840
- Douthat, James L. Early Settlers, Hamilton County, Tennessee: 1830-1850 Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 X2d. Free Lookups Available!
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Hamilton County on page 153.]
1850
- Douthat, James L. Early Settlers, Hamilton County, Tennessee: 1830-1850 Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1986. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 X2d.
1860
- Scanned census images [in the USGenWeb Archives]
- Douthat, James L. 1860 Hamilton County, Tennessee, Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 X2d 1860.
1880
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 X22s 1880.
1900
- 1900 Census, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Free Lookups Available!
1930
- 1930 Census, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Free Lookups Available!
Church
Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.
- Hamilton County Church Records
- - Family History Library Catalog - Hamilton County Church Records
- Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.
- - Family History Library Catalog - Hamilton County Church History
- If the records you need are not found in the Family History Library collection, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Hamilton County are
- - List of Hamilton County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- - List of Hamilton County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
- In 1936, a helpful guide to early Hamilton County church records was published by the Works Project Administration. [8]Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the appropriate "county fact sheet" on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Hamilton County are listed. Many of these filmed records are also available at the Family History Library.
Baptist
- [1848-1872] Historical Records Survey. Concord Baptist Church minutes, 1848-1872, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1943. Typescript. FHL 24679 Item 2
- [1838-1876] Historical Records Survey. Good Spring Baptist Church minutes, 1838-1876, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1943. Typescript. FHL 24679 Item 2
- [1859-1896] Historical Records Survey. Ocoee Baptist Association minutes, 1859-1896, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1943. Typescript. FHL 24679 Item 1
Episcopal
- [1850-1900] St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1850-1900.TSLAReel #503
- [1850-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1850-1900.
- [1900-1950] St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1900-1950.TSLA Reel #350
- [1900-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to St. Paul's Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1900-1950.
Methodist Episcopal
- [1872-1954] First Methodist Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1872-1954. TSLA Reel #455
- [1872-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to First Methodist Episcopal Church Records. Chattanooga, 1872-1954.
- 1875-1885 - First Methodist Episcopal Church, Chattanooga, Baptism Index 1875-1885. Batches C530281 and C530282 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
- 1885-1895 - First Methodist Episcopal Church, Chattanooga, Marriage Index 1885-1895. Batches M530281 and M530282 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
- [1899-1966] Centenary Methodist Episcopal Church, South Records. Chattanooga, 1899-1966. TSLA Reel #454
- [1899-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to Centenary Methodist Episcopal Church, South Records. Chattanooga, 1899-1966.
Presbyterian
- [1881-1952] Second Presbyterian Church Records. Chattanooga, 1881-1952.TSLA Reel #393
- [1881-1900] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to Second Presbyterian Church Records. Chattanooga, 1881-1952.
The W.P.A. published a helpful survey in 1940:
- Directory of Churches, Missions, and Religious Institutions of Tennessee, no. 33, Hamilton County, Chattanooga. Nashville, Tenn.: Tennessee Historical Records Survey Project, 1940. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 E4h.
Court
Directories
- Chattanooga, TN, 1890. Chattanooga, TN: Connelly & Fais, 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Chattanooga, TN, 1891. Chattanooga, TN: Connelly & Fais, 1891. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
DNA
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Hamilton County residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.- [Brown] Descendant of John P. Brown, b. 1853 Soddy-Daisy, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 157721). Genetic signature available online (labeled Group No. 117), genealogical description available online, courtesy: Brown/Browne/Braun DNA Study. Matches have been found.
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Hamilton, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 30,000 entries.
- Wilson, John. Hamilton County Pioneers. Chelsea, Mich.: BookCrafters, 1998. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 D2w. Free Lookups Available!
- Wilson, John. Early Hamilton Settlers. Chattanooga, Tenn.: J. Wilson, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 D3w. Free Lookups Available!
Bibliography
- [Boyd] Boyd, R. Vernon. The Boyds of Sequatchie Valley, Tn. Typescript, microfilmed in 1993. FHL US/CAN Film 1750733 Item 37; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- [Hughes] Wilson, Duane Earl. Phetoma D. Epps (1837-1907) of Davidson County, North Carolina and Pope County, Arkansas and John Edward Hughes (1836-1885) Hamiliton County, Tennessee and Pope County, Arkansas: and Some of Their Ancestors, Descendants, and Related Families. Naperville, Ill.: D.E. Wilson, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Ep76w.
- [Lauderdale] Lauderdale, Charles J. The Lauderdales of Scotland and America, 1056-1936. Joplin, MO: Gahagan Print. Co., 1937. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 1307515 Item 5, digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Young] Stein, Carl F. Some Descendents of James Pickens Young 1815: of Polk, Rhea, Hamilton, Blount, & Knox Counties, Tenn., Cherokee, & Gaston Counties, North Carolina. Family Group Sheets. FHL US/CAN Film 2055385 Item 2.
Land
The original Hamilton County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. In the early 1990s, the Hamilton County Microfilm Department microfilmed Deed Books A to Y6 (1796-1901) and Indexes (1799-1929). Copies of their large collection of films are also available at the Family History Library: FHL US/CAN Films 1906056 ff.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
- Armstrong, Zella. The History of Hamilton County and Chattanooga, Tennessee. Chattanooga, Tenn.: Lookout Pub. Co., c1931-c1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Torrey, Bradford. Spring Notes from Tennessee. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin and company, c1896. Digital version, free. Description of local cabins, Confederate Veterans, Chattanooga in the 1890's.
- Ochs, Milton Barlow. Views: Chattanooga, Chickamauga national park, Look-out Mountain, Missionary Ridge, Orchard Knob national cemetery, Tennessee River, Walden's Ridge. Chattanooga, Tennessee: Macgowan-Cooke Printing Co., 1905. Free digital copy. Photos and history of historical places and battlefields in Chattanooga.
- Parham, Louis L. Chattanooga, Tennessee: Hamilton County and Lookout Mountain. sp: 1876. Digital version. free.
Maps
- [1871] Ruger, A. Bird's Eye View of the City of Chattanooga, Hamilton County, Tennessee. Originally published 1871. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1886] Wellege, Henry. Chattanooga, County Seat of Hamilton County, Tennessee. Originally published 1886. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1890] Hopkins, G.M. A Map of the City of Chattanooga, Tennessee. Originally published 1890. Shows streets, businesses, etc. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
- [1939] Viking Press for WPA. A Map of Chattanooga. Originally published 1939. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
Military
Revolutionary War
The following Hamilton County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. [See Tennessee, Eastern District, Hamilton County on page 153.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
- Veterans, Revolutionary through Indian Wars, Appalachian Families, Vol. 1, No. 2 (1988).
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1960):65-68; Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct. 1960):90-93. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Hamilton County pensioners 7(3):66 and James County pensioners 7(4):90)]
Civil War
Civl War Research Database $
Civil War service men from Hamilton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Hamilton County.
Confederate Soldiers
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Carter's) - CSA - Company B.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ashby's) - CSA - Company H.
- 4th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Branner's) - CSA - Company A.
- 5th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McClellan's) - CSA - Company B.
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McKenzie's) - CSA
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Smith's) - CSA - Company H.
- 19th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A and I.
- 26th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (3rd East Tennessee Volunteers) - CSA - Companies G and H.
- 35th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (5th Infantry) (1st Mountain Rifle Regiment) - CSA - Company I.
- 36th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies H and K.
- 37th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (7th Infantry) (1st East Tennessee Rifles) - CSA - Company D and H.
- 43rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Gillespie's) (5th East Tennesse Volunteers) - CSA - Company K.
Union Soldiers
- 5th Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry - Company E.
- 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company F.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company M.
- 10th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company D.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Hamilton County:
A good place to start is:
- Hughes, Nathaniel Cheairs and John C. Wilson. The Confederates, Soldiers of Hamilton County, Tennessee: An Alphabetical Listing of the Confederate Soldiers Who Lived at One Time in Hamilton County, Tennessee. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 M2h.
- Boynton, Henry V. (Henry Van), 1835 - 1905; Kirkley, Joseph W. (Joseph William), 1841-1912.The National Military Park, Chickamauga -- Chattanooga. An Historical Guide (A roster of the Union and Confederate armies, at Chickamauga. Cincinnati). The Robert Clarke Co., 1895. Free digital copy.
- Curry, W.L. (William Leontes)b.1839: Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States. Ohio Commandery. Raid of the Confederate Cavalry through Central Tennessee, in October, 1863, commanded by General Joseph Wheeler. A paper read before the Ohio Commandery of the Loyal Legion, April 1, 1908. [n.p.], 1908. Free digital copy.
- Turchin, John Basil. ...Chickamauga. Chicago: Fergus Printing Co., 1888. Free digital copy.
- Wehner, William. Battles of Chattanooga, Fought Nov. 23-25, 1863, by the armies of the Cumberland and Tennessee, under Generals Grant, Thomas, Sherman, and Hooker. General Bragg commanding the Confederate forces. Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge and localities made famous by the battles of Chickamauga, Wauhatchie, Graysville, Ringgold, etc.. Chicago, Illinois, W.J. Jefferson, 1886. Free digital copy.
- Worsham, William J. Old Nineteenth Tennessee Regiment, C.S.A. June, 1861-April, l865. Knoxville, Tennessee: Press of Paragon Printing Co., 1902. Free digital copy.
- Genealogy Trails, Hamilton County Tennessee Military, (accessed 30 Jan 2012).
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Hamilton County, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Hamilton County, page 341.
- CWSAC, Battle Summaries, Chattanooga, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Located in Hamilton County and City of Chattanooga. Wauhatchie, located in Hamilton, Marion and Dade County.
- American Memory, Selected Civil War Photographs, 1861-1865, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Chattanooga.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Hamilton County, page 340-342.
- Hamilton County Tennessee Civil War Soldiers, (accessed 30 Jan 2012). Confederate and Union
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Hamilton County
- June 7-8, 1862 = Chattanooga I[10]
- August 21, 1863 = Chattanooga II[11]
- October 28 - 29, 1863 = Wauhatchie, also known as Brown's Ferry[12]
- November 23-25, 1863 = Chattanooga III[13]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Hamilton county click on the following cities or towns:
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Hamilton County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- East Tennessee Roots
- Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Hamilton County, Tennessee records have been published in East Tennessee Roots (10 vols.). A subject index to these articles is available online. Surname indexes to Volumes 9 and 10 are also available online. The Family History Library has collected most issues of East Tennessee Roots FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
Prisons
Learn if your Hamilton County, Tennessee ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
Probate
Hamilton County's early will books were destroyed in the Civil War. Surviving will books are held at the County Courthouse. In the early 1990s, the Hamilton County Microfilm Department microfilmed Will Books 1 to 6 (1862-1936) and an Index. FHL copies: FHL Films 1905945, 1940267-1940269.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Index to Wills, 1862-1936
- Wills, 1862-1936 (Vols. 1-6)
- Probate records index, 1916-1917
- Probate records, 1864-1928 (Vols. 1-30)
- Bonds, Letters, 1878-1932 (16 vols.)
The following Hamilton County probate records have been abstracted:
- Douthat, James L. Hamilton County, Tennessee, Will Book [Will Book 1, 1862-1892]. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1996. FHL Book 976.882 P2dj.
Taxation
The following Hamilton County tax records have been indexed:[14]
- [1836] "Hamilton County, Tennessee 1836 Tax List," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Spring 1982):25-31. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a; free digital version at society's website. For further access, see Periodicals.
- [1836] Douthat, James L. 1836 Hamilton County, Tennessee, Civil Districts and Tax Lists. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.882 R4d; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- [1836-1837] Tax Lists, 1836-37, by District, Southern Roots & Shoots. Rossville GA: Aug 1993. Vol. 9 Iss. 3.
Vital Records
Marriage
The following Hamilton County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1857-1900 - Hamilton County Marriage Index 1857-1900 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
- 1857-1863 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1987. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.] Free Lookups Available!
Divorce
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Hamilton County divorce papers in diverse manuscript collections, including some separate divorce dockets, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death
For deaths of Methodists in Hamilton County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies and Libraries
Hamilton County Tennessee Genealogy Society
430 Runyan Dr.
Chattanooga, TN 37405
East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay Street
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, Tennessee 37901-1629
Phone: 865-215-8824
Email: eths@east-tennessee-history.org
Chattanooga-Hamilton County
Bicentennial Library
1001 Broad Street Chattanooga, TN 37402
Telephone: 423-757-5310
Fax: 423-757-5090
Internet: http://www.lib.chattanooga.gov/
Family History Centers
3067 Ooltewah Ringgold Rd
Ooltewah, Tennessee, United States
Telephone: 423-892-7632
e-mail tn_chattanooga@ldsmail.net
Hours: Tues./Thurs./Sat. 10 a.m. - 2 p.m. -- Evenings: Tues. & Wed. 7 - 9 p.m.
Attention: Inclement Weather Closings will coincide with school closings.
This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Hamilton County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Hamilton County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Hamilton County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TNHAMILT-L (Hamilton County, Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-L (East Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: ETN-OZ-L (East Tennessee Migrants to Ozarks Region List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: SE-TN-L (Southeast Tennessee List)
References
- ↑ Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hamiltonn County, Tennessee page 640, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Mary Barnett Curtis, Early East Tennessee Tax Lists: a compiled list of residents of the area covered in 22 east Tennessee counties for which there is (sic) no census records prior to 1830 (Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing, 1964) [FHL 976.8 R4c].
- ↑ WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 19 September 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August 2012)
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 16:06.
- This page has been accessed 10,354 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


