Hampreston, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hampreston, Hampshire)

England go to Dorset go to Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes go to Hampreston

Guide to Hampreston, Dorset family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hampreston, Dorset
Hampreston All Saints, Dorset.jpg
All Saints Church at Hampreston
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cranborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne PLU
Registration District Wimborne
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pimperne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset


Contents

Parish History

HAMPRESTON (All Saints), a parish, partly within the liberty of Westover, S. division of the county of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Cranborne, union of Wimborne and Cranborne, Wimborne division of the county of Dorset, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Wimborne. There are a place of worship for Independents, and a Roman Catholic chapel; and a convent has been established for 30 nuns under the superintendence of an abbess.[1]

The parish borders Hampshire, where a small part of the parish extended before the border change in 1974. The civil parish was renamed Ferndown in 1972. Hamlets within the parish include Stapehill and Longham.

The church was originally a Chapelry of Wimborne Minster, before becoming a parish of itself from 1440


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hampreston, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1610
1610
1610
Images
1610-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1919 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[6] 1708-1757 1768-1837 Joiner[7]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.

Transcriptions from Hampreston OPC

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

1848 Gazetteer entry
HAMPRESTON (All Saints), a parish, partly within the liberty of Westover, S. division of the county of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Cranborne, union of Wimborne and Cranborne, Wimborne division of the county of Dorset, 3½ miles(E. S. E.) from Wimborne. This parish anciently formed part of that of Wimborne, from which it was separated about the year 1440. It is situated on the navigable river Stour, which is its southern boundary,and between the roads leading respectively from Southampton to Exeter and Poole. [8]

1870's Gazetteer entry
HAMPRESTON, a parish in the district of Wimborne, and counties of Dorset and Hants; on the river Stour, near the Southampton and Dorchester railway, 3¼ miles ESE of Wimborne Minster. Pop., 1,115. There are two dissenting chapels.[9]

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848), pub. 1848 pp. 387-391. Date accessed: 06 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  8. Samuel A. Lewis, Hampreston (All Saints) A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 387-391.
  9. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870; HAMPRESTON, A Vision of Britain through Time

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,589 times.