Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Hampshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
The Isle of Wight was originally part of Hampshire but is now a county in it's own right.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Hampshire.
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Hampshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Hampshire and the parishes covered by each.
Read more about England Civil Registration.
Williams, Robert. Hampshire Settlers in South Africa, 1820. Two groups under Alexander, Biggar & Duncan Cambell, Biggar, Bingle, Cole, Ellicott, Epsey, Fairclough, Godfery, Knowles, McDonald, Page, Pedlar, Sanderson, Cambell, Gladstone, Horton, Jordan, Kimmish, Littlefield, Lovelock, Penny, Shepard, Stroud, Will. Article to be found in Hampshire Family Historian vol.10, #1, 1982, page 22. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Sloggett, Brian. Before 1538. Article shows how to draw information about baptism, marriages from information published in previous books, and how one can draw up a Pedigree chart. This article covers the surname of Nenge, going back to 1275, and also Wylkins of Wonston Parish, which incorporates a Descendants chart from 1386-1601. Article is in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. VIII, no. 3,1981 pages 103-105. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Willis, Arthur J. Register of Persons Who Have Provided Certificates of Settlement. An alphabetical listing of those persons who provided a settlement certificate to the parish of Portsmouth. The original listing is to be found in the Portsmouth City Record office (Accession Number PL9). Gives the surname, christian name, parish of settlement, date of certificate, and the page number. The earliest appears to be 1681 through to 1754. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 2, no. 1. pages 10-13. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h vol. 2 & 3.
Hampshire Strays in Surrey. The article has been extracted from Surrey Marriages vol.1-5, and gives a list of the various areas in Surrey, where Hampshire folk were found, starting in Clapham in Aug. 1656, Barnstead, St. Martha or Chilworth, Peperharrow beginning in 1724, Pyrford, Guildford, Alfold, Send and Ripley, and Compton. Gives date names and sometimes the area of Hampshire the people came from. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no.1, May 1985,pages 42-44, Family History Library Ref.942.27 B2h v.12
Loton, James.One Falklands Afternoon. Mr Loton kindly transcribed Port Stanley Cemetery of Hampshire people who died in the Falklands. Alphabetical listing of surname, given name, date of death, age, and any further details, like the job they held, relationships, earliest is 1850, also transcribed are the W.W.1 and W.W.2 War Memorials. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 14, no.2, Aug 1987, page 70-74. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
See a list of the parishes of Hampshire with links to articles.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Hampshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Hampshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Hampshire Probate Records.
Getting Help with your Genealogy
Professional Genealogists who specialize in Southeast England Research helps you compare the expertise, credentials, and rates of professional researchers who can help you access these records.
- Hampshire & Isle of Wight Resources and help pages on RootsChat Hampshire & Isle of Wight Resources and help pages. (Free).
- www.knightroots.co.uk Transcriptions of Hampshire Parish Register entries
- http://www.isle-of-wight-fhs.co.uk/ A wonderful web site for births, marriages and deaths on the Isle of Wight (and more - see our website for full details of the records and indexes held)
- Hampshire Record Office
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Hampshire
- http://www.isle-of-wight-memorials.org.uk/ Memorials & Monuments on the Isle of Wight - principally War Memorials, with many biographical entries for those who died
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Hampshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Hampshire Genealogy
|English Channel|| Isle of Wight
- This page was last modified on 12 February 2015, at 10:28.
- This page has been accessed 13,491 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News