Hampstead St John, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Hampstead St John

Hampstead St John, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hampstead PLU
Registration District Hampstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hampstead was granted to the Benedictine monks of Westminster Abbey by charter in 986 but, though it is unlikely they did not place achurch there soon afterwards, the first concrete record of one comes from 1312 (when it was recorded that John de Neuport was its priest) and 1333 (through a mention of aChapel dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary). On the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the Abbey was replaced by the Bishop of Westminster.[1]


The civil and ancient parish of St John Hampstead was established by the year 1560.

'HAMPSTEAD (St. John), a parish, in the union of Edmonton, Holborn division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4 miles north and west of London. Originally in ancient times, a hamlet in the parish of Hendon, it became detached from it in 1598.

'Hampstead chapel, in Well Walk, originally the pump-room of the Wells Tavern; and St. John's chapel, Downshire Hill...erected in 1823, are proprietary episcopal chapels. There are chapels of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.'[2]

The Victoria County History of Hampstead (1989) is available online. It includes chapters on manors, estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Judaism, Buddhism, Sikhism, other faiths, education, and charities for the poor.[3]

Here's a list of Churches and Chapels of St John Hampstead in Pre-1900.

Resources

  • Baines, F.E. Records of the Manor, Parish, and Borough of Hampstead, in the County of London, to December 31st, 1889. London: Whittaker and Co., 1890. Digital version at Google Books.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hampstead St John Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1560
1560
Images
1560-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1801-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1949 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1639-1640 FindMyPast[8] 1578-1752 FindMyPast[9]
1639-1640 BritishOrigins[10]
    1769-1837 Ancestry[11]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438790.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Hampstead St John Churchyard database at Find A Grave.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Wikipedia: St John-at-Hampstead. Adapted. Date accessed: 8 January 2014.
  2. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 391-396. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 23 April 2010).
  3. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 9: Hampstead, Paddington (1989). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=90 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St John at Hampstead in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1801 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hampstead St John in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hampstead St John in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Hampstead St John in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 June 2014, at 16:07.
  • This page has been accessed 4,062 times.