Hampton, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes go to Hampton

Guide to Hampton St Mary, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Church records

Online Hampton Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1554
1554
1554
Images
1554-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[1]
1813-1904 Ancestry[2] 1754-1911 Ancestry[3] 1813-1973 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1836-1840 BritishOrigins[5] 1600-1811 TheGenealogist[6] 1567-1812 BritishOrigins[7]
Unknown FindMyPast[8] 1629-1837 FindMyPast[9]
1629-1630,
1639,
Post-1813
BritishOrigins[10]
1657-1812 FamilyRelatives[11]
1657-1812 Joiner[12]
    1790-1812 Ancestry[13]    
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[14]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438825.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Parish History

St Mary's Thames Street in Hampton was established by about 1554.

'Hampton The Blessed Virgin Mary, a parish (1554), in the union of Kingston, hundred of Spelthorne, County of Middlesex, 13½ miles west by southwest of London. This parish also had within it the chapelry of Hampton-Wick, New Hampton, and The Royal Chapel or Hampton Chapel-Royal.

'The parish also a place of worship for Independents.'[15]

The Victoria County History of Hampton with Hampton Wick (1911) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, church, advowson, and charities.[16]

Websites

Hampton on GENUKI

References

  1. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Hampton in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  2. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hampton St Mary in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hampton St Mary in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hampton St Mary in Richmond upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  6. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  7. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  8. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  9. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  10. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  11. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  12. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.
  15. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 391-396. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 23 April 2010).
  16. 'Spelthorne Hundred: Hampton: Introduction', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 2: General; Ashford, East Bedfont with Hatton, Feltham, Hampton with Hampton Wick, Hanworth, Laleham, Littleton (1911), pp. 319-324. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22204 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 5,260 times.