Hampton County, South CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
South Carolina
Hampton County
Hampton County, South Carolina genealogy and family history research guide. Introduces you to county topics such as vital record births, marriages, divorces, and deaths, census, court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
County in South Carolina Lowcountry.
Coordinates: 32.78°0′N 81.14°0′W / 32.78°N 81.14°W
| Hampton County, South Carolina | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of South Carolina | |
![]() Location of South Carolina in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1878 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Hampton |
| Courthouse | |
Quick Dates
Hampton County's civil records start the following years:
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1915 | 1911 | 1915 | 1880 | 1878 | 1878 |
County Courthouse
Hampton County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Hampton, SC 29924
Hampton County Clerk of Court
1 Courthouse Square
Hampton, SC 29924
Phone: 803-914-2250
Court and land records
Hampton County Probate Court
1 Courthouse Square
Hampton, SC 29924
Phone: 803-914-2183
Probate and marriage records
Hours:8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday
History
Parent County
1878--Hampton County was created 18 February 1878 from Beaufort County.
County seat: Hampton [2]
County Pronunciation
Boundary Changes
"Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the Genealogy Inc website. The maps rely on AniMap 3.0 software.
Variant Spellings
- Hompton[4]
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Places/Localities
Populated Places
| |||||||||||||||
Neighboring Counties
Allendale | Bamberg | Beaufort | Colleton | Effingham County, Georgia | Jasper | Screven County, Georgia
Resources
African Americans
United States African Americans
South Carolina African Americans
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Bear Head Tract
- Belmont - Garnett
- Bo Peep
- Boggy - Estill
- Bonnywood
- Bostick - Estill
- Broxton Bridge
- Buckfield - Yemassee
- Cotton Hall
- Cypress Vale
- Gravel Hill - Garnett
- Gregorie Farms
- Gregory
- Groton - Solomons Crossroads
- Jericho
- New Castle
- Oak Grove - Brunson
- Oak Ridge
- Woodside - Estill
- Woodstock - Shirley
Research Guides
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Hampton County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
Cemeteries
There are more than # burial grounds in the county.
To view a list, see Hampton County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
Census
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 18,741 | — |
| 1890 | 20,544 | 9.6% |
| 1900 | 23,738 | 15.5% |
| 1910 | 25,126 | 5.8% |
| 1920 | 19,550 | −22.2% |
| 1930 | 17,243 | −11.8% |
| 1940 | 17,465 | 1.3% |
| 1950 | 18,027 | 3.2% |
| 1960 | 17,425 | −3.3% |
| 1970 | 15,878 | −8.9% |
| 1980 | 18,159 | 14.4% |
| 1990 | 18,191 | 0.2% |
| 2000 | 21,386 | 17.6% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Hampton County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church Records
All Saints’ Church, Hampton, South Carolina describes parish records held by the South Carolina Historical Society.
Court
DNA
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Hampton County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Hampton, South Carolina at World Connect, produces more than 2,500 results.
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research.
Learn more.
Message Boards
- Hampton County, SC Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Hampton County, SC Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
Bibliography
Land
Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.
Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Hampton County:
| Date | Government Office |
| 1878-present | Hampton County |
| 1868-1878 | Beaufort County |
| 1865-1868 | Beaufort District |
| 1769-1865 | Beaufort District Records Lost |
| 1710-1769 | Charleston District |
| 1670-1710 | Proprietary Land Grants |
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
- Sherrard, Thomas H. A Working Plan for Forest Lands in Hampton and Beaufort Counties, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1903. Digital version at Google Books.
Local Histories
- Lewis, Carolyn Baker. "The World around Hampton: Post-Bellum Life on a South Carolina Plantation," Agricultural History, Vol. 58, No. 3, Symposium on the History of Rural Life in America (Jul., 1984), pp. 456-476. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Hampton County Tricentennial Commission. Both Sides of the Swamp, Hampton County ([S.l.] : Hampton County Tricentennial Commission, c1970 ), 191 pages. Not from classic sources but from quotations from letters and diaries, articles, editorials, speeches, songs and legends, the legends of memory bequeathed from one generation to another and, includes some biographies, pages 164-179. Book found at FHL 975.797 H2b and Other Libraries.
Maps
Military
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Hompton County [sic], p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War 1861-1865
Civil War service men from Hampton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Hampton County.
- - 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves
- - Company B (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry
- - Company A (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- - Company E (also known as the Calhoun Mounted Men or Calhoun Minute Men)
- - Company F (also known as the St. Peter's Guards)
- Civil War Soiders of Hampton County. South Carolina GenWeb. Internet site, (accessed 30 December 2011. Lists men who were from Hampton County, the military units they served in and some brief info about them.
Newspapers
Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Hampton County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Farmer's Review (Hampton, S.C.) 1911-1913.
- Hampton County Guardian (Hampton, S.C.) 1879-current.
- Hampton County Herald (Hampton, S.C.) 1916-1919.
- The Hampton County Democrat (Yemassee, Hampton County, S.C.) 1937-1978.
- The Hampton County News (Hampton, S.C.) 1910-1913.
- The Hampton County News Herald (Brunson, S.C.) 1887-1890.
- The True South (Brunson, S.C.) 1875-1875.
- The Varnville Enterprise (Varnville, Hampton County, S.C.) 1892-1899.
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
Probate
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[6] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
Taxation
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Hampton County.
Vital Records
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.
Birth
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Hampton County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Marriage
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
The Hampton County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.
Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.
Marriages - Indexes and Records
- 1911-1950 - Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950 [7] FHL Collection - index and records
- 1911-1954 - Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1954 [8] FHL Collection - records
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Hampton County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Deaths - Indexes and Records
- 1914-1960 - State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Libraries
Hampton County Library
Address:
12 Locust Street
Hampton, SC 29924
Telephone: (803)943-7528
Catalog: Click here
Library Hours: Monday - Thursday 11:00 am -to 7:00 pm, Friday 11:00 am to 5:00 pm,Saturday 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
The Hampton County Library is part of the Allendale, Hampton, Jasper Regional Library System. The regional system headquarters is in Allendale. The libraries in this system share their catalog.
Museums
Hampton Museum and Visitors' Center
Address:
15 Elm St. E.
Hampton, SC 29924
Phone: (803) 943-5318
E-mail: hmvc9891@yahoo.com
Hours: Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., 1st Sunday of the month 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., other times by appointment
Genealogy sources: There are over 50 books to assist with family history and the museum has inventoried over 125 cemeteries. An alphabetical list of people in all cemeteries is available. There re also 5,000 or more photographs to assist in research
Exhilits: There are a number of ehibits in the Museum
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Hampton County, SCGenWeb
- Family History Library Catalog
- Hampton County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- ↑ List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 185. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
- ↑ Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- ↑ Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
- ↑ South Carolina. Probate Court (Hampton County), Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.
- ↑ South Carolina. Probate Court (Hampton County), Hampton County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-1954, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 21:54.
- This page has been accessed 3,042 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More





