Hancock County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Hancock County

Guide to Hancock County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Hancock County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1827
County Seat Greenfield
Courthouse
Address Hancock County Courthouse
9 E Main Street
Greenfield, IN 46140
Phone: 317.462.1109
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1828*
1882*
1827
1828
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed January 26, 1827 from Madison County[1]
  • County Seat: Greenfield [2]


Neighboring Counties

Hamilton  • Madison  • Henry  • Rush  • Shelby  • Marion

Johnson CountyShelby CountyHenry CountyDecatur CountyFranklin CountyFayette CountyHenry CountyHancock CountyMarion CountyMadison CountyTipton CountyHamilton CountyHamilton CountyDelaware CountyINHancock.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Mexican War, 1846-1848
Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Hancock County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hancock County

Civil War Sources for Hancock County

  • "Military Annals" Chapter 7 in Richman, George J.History of Hancock County, Indiana; Its People, Industries and Institutions. (Greenfield, Ind: Wm. Mitchell Printing Co, 1916.) (page 255-328 Regiment, Company, Name) 977.258 H2r FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other library INTERNET ARCHIVE Google books
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
  • A Record of Indiana Men and Women who Died in the Service of the United States and the Allied Nations in the World War. 1914-1918 -Genealogy Trails
  • Residents of Hancock County, Indiana Who Served in World War I Indiana Genealogical Society
World War II, 1941-1945
  • Hancock County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps Access Genealogy

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Many Hancock County residents were covered in the Knightstown Banner. See their obituary archive and genealogy columns at Banner Online

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Hancock County Courthouse
9 E Main Street
Greenfield, IN 46140
Phone: 317.462.1109

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1828.
County Recorder has land records.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1882. [3]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
  • 1828-1836Hancock County, Indiana Marriages

Genealogy Trails

Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 FamilySearch

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hancock County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hancock_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Indiana 213 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 December 2014, at 14:15.
  • This page has been accessed 11,203 times.