Hancock County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Hancock County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Hancock County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Hancock County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Hancock County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded June 25, 1789
County Seat Ellsworth
Courthouse
Address Hancock County Courthouse
50 State Street
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone. 207.667.9542
Hancock County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Town clerks  have birth, marriage and death records. Clerk of the Superior Court  has divorce and court records. Probate office  has probate records. Register of Deeds  has land records. County Clerk  has marriage records 1789-1891. [1]

History

Parent County

Created 25 June 1789 from Lincoln County. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Ellsworth Fire, May 7, 1933 -- Hancock Hall, which housed the records for the City of Ellsworth was destroyed. [2]

Places / Localities

MaineHancock CountyWaldo CountyKnox CountyPenobscot CountyPiscataquis CountyWashington CountyPenobscot Indian Island ReservationTownship 4 North Division and North Strip (aka Oqiton Township)Township 3 NDTownship 41 MDTownship 40 MDTownship 39 MDTownship 32 MDGreat PondTownship 34 MDTownship 35 MDTownship 28 MD BPPAuroraAmherstMariavilleOsbornTownship 22 MDTownship 16 MDEastbrookWalthamOtisDedhamBucksportVerona IslandOrlandEllsworthFletchers Landing TownshipFranklinTownship 9 SDTownship 10 SDTownship 7 SDGouldsboroWinter HarborSorrentoSullivanHancockLamoineTrentonBar HarborMount DesertCranberry IslesSouthwest HarborTremontSwan's IslandFrenchboroSurryPenobscotBlue HillCastineBrooksvilleSedgwickEagle Island TownshipBrooklinDeer IsleStoningtonIsle au HautVinalhavenNorth HavenIslesboroLincolnvilleNorthportBelfastSearsportStockton SpringsProspectSwanvilleFrankfortMonroeWinterportSteubenMilbridgeHarringtonCherryfieldColumbiaDebloisTownship 18 MDTownship 19 MDTownship 25 Middle DivisionTownship 24 MDBeddingtonDevereau TownshipTownship 30 MDDay Block Township (Township 31 MD BPP)Township 37 MDTownship 36 MDTownship 43 MDTownship 42 MDSakom Township (Township 5 NDTownship 6 NDGrand Lake Stream (Plantation)Township 6 R1 NTalmadgeOrneville TownshipMedfordMiloLake View PlantationBrownvilleNewburghHampdenOrringtonHoldenBrewerEddingtonCliftonCarmelHermonBangorVeazieBradleyOronoGlenburnKenduskeagLevantOld TownMilfordGreenfield TownshipSummit TownshipGrand Falls TownshipCorinthCharlestonHudsonBradfordAltonArgyle TownshipGreenbushLagrangeEdinburgPassadumkeagHowlandMaxfieldEnfieldSeboeis PlantationTownship 2 R8 NWPMattamiscontis TownshipChesterLowellLincolnBurlingtonTwombly Ridge Township (3 R1 N)LeeSpringfieldLakevilleCarroll PlantationWhitney Township (aka Pukakon) (5 R1 NBPP)Kossuth TownshipTopsfield
Modern town borders in Hancock County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Extinct towns and plantation:[3]  Eagle Island Military Plantation | Islandport | Mansel | Number 28 MD Plantation | Seaville[4]

Unorganized territories. For further details see Maine townships.

  • Central Hancock: Fletchers Landing
  • Eagle Island
  • East Hancock:
    • Township 3 North Division and Strip North
    • Township 4 North Division and Strip North (a.k.a. Oqiton Township)
    • Township 7 South Division
    • Township 9 South Division
    • Township 10 South Division
    • Township 16 Middle Division
    • Township 22 Middle Division
    • Township 28 Middle Division (Number 28 MD Plantation)
    • Township 34 Middle Division
    • Township 35 Middle Division
    • Township 39 Middle Division
    • Township 40 Middle Division
    • Township 41 Middle Division
  • Northwest Hancock: Township 32 Middle Division

Communities   • Bar Harbor         • Bucksport

Villages   • Bass Harbor  • Islesford • Minturn  • Northeast Harbor

Neighboring Counties:  Knox | Penobscot | Waldo | Washington

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Local histories are available for Hancock County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Hancock County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hancock County, Maine:


- 2nd Regiment, Maine Infantry , Company B.

Newspapers

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at [1]

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.


Libraries, Archives, Museums

Abbe Museum
"Inspiring New Learning About the Wabanaki Nations with Every Visit"

Two Locations:
26 Mount Desert Street
Bar Harbor, Maine 04609

Abbe at Sieur de Monts Spring
Acadia National Park

(207) 288-3519
info@abbemuseum.org

Family history Centers

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, 181, and 304. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Ellsworth, ME Great Fire, May 1933 http://www3.gendisasters.com/maine/11041/ellsworth-me-great-fire-disaster-may-7-1933
  3. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  4. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 99. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 16:32.
  • This page has been accessed 13,551 times.