Hancock County, Mississippi GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hancock County, Mississippi)

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi Gotoarrow.png Hancock County

Guide to Hancock County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records



Hancock County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Hancock County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 18 December, 1812
County Seat Bay St. Louis
Courthouse
Address Hancock County Courthouse]
150 Main St;
BAY St. Louis MS 39520
Phone: 228.467.5404
Hancock County Courthouse


Contents

County Courthouse

HancockCountyCourthouse14Sept07.jpg

Hancock County Courthouse
150 Main St;
BAY St. Louis MS 39520
Phone: 228.467.5404

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1812--Hancock County was created 18 December 1812 from the Mobile District.
County seat: Bay St. Louis [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1863--Some records were lost. For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Barth Flat Top-Harmony Baptist Church Pearlington
Bayou Caddy Gainesville Pearson
Bayou Coco Gardens of Memory Powell
Bayou LaCroix Gipson Rotten Bayou-St. Joseph
Belle Isle Gulfcoast Memorial Saint Mary
Breland Gulfside Assembly Smith
Brothers of the Sacred Heart Holden-Thompson Spring Branch Church
Caesar Kiln St. Augustine
Catahoula Koch Standard Sandhill
Cedar Rest Lakeshore The Point
Choctaw Oaks Leetown Turtleskin
Christ Episcopal Little Rotten Bayou Victor Ladner
Cowand Logtown Washington Road
Crane Creek McQueen Waveland
Doby Mitchell Westonia
Elmer Napoleon Wolf Creek Baptist Church
Fayard Necaise Crossing
Fenton SandHill - Alphonse G. Malley New Hope Baptist Church

Census

For tips on accessing Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Bay St. Louis

Courtesy of the Hancock County Historical Society:

Catholic Church Records Index: Includes Our Lady of the Gulf Church in Bay Saint Louis and the Church of the Annunciation in Kiln, Mississippi

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. Courtesy of Hancock County Historical Society:

Early Hancock County Land Records: Transcription of Book B

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories. Courtesy of the Hancock County Historical Society:

Alphabet File of newspaper articles, publications, etc. indexed by surnames and subjects by Charles H. Gray

Maps

Military

Civil War
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company F - Shieldsboro Rifles
Company G - Gainesville Volunteers
- 17th Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry
Company B - Poitevent’s Company

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hancock County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
  • 1879-1880 - Hancock County Birth Index 1879-1880. Batch C516885 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
Divorce
Death
  • 1879-1880 - Hancock County Death Index 1879-1880. Batch B747996 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Mississippi page 379, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2015, at 18:13.
  • This page has been accessed 11,770 times.