Handley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Handley

Guide to Handley, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Handley, Cheshire
All Saints Church, Handley Cheshire.jpg
All Saints Church, Handley Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malpas
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

HANDLEY (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, and is 7½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Chester. The parish is situated on the Chester and Whitchurch road.[1]

Handley All Saints is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Golbourn(e) David.

All Saints Church, Handley, is to the north of the village of Handley, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with that of St Alban, Tattenhall.

There has been a church on this site from the 12th century. In a restoration in 1854 by James Harrison all the masonry was removed except for the west tower which had been built in 1512.

Handley is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. Milton Green is a hamlet in the parish.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Handley All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Handley All Saints Parish (1750) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1596-1905
1599-1838

FS PR's 1570-1934
  NONE
1572-1934
  NONE
1570-1948
  NONE
FS BT'S 1601-1905   NONE
1599-1838
  NONE
1596-1905
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Handley, 1570-1981 Cheshire Record Office number: P3/1/1-2, 3308/1, 2/1-3, 3872/1, 3308/3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at Family Search Historical Records.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, 1570-1880. Marriages, 1572-1808, 1812-1981. Burials, 1570-1948. BRITISH 2000013 Items 1 - 8

Bishop's transcripts for Handley, 1596-1905 Cheshire Record Office number: WDB 101.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, bishop’s transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1599, 1601, 1605, 1604, 1606, 1610, 1613-1615, 1618, 1622-1630, 1633-1635, 1637-1642, 1660-1677, 1679-1685, 1690, 1693-1694, 1696-1697, 1700-1701, 1703, 1711, 1715-1723, 1725-1747, 1749-1809, 1811-1813, 1815, 1817, 1825, 1827-1831, 1833. Baptisms, 1816. Marriages, 1822-1824. Baptisms, burials, 1818-1824, 1826, 1839-1905. BRITISH
1655827 Item 2

Nonconformist Churches

Handley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1862.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937) 
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98) 
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

  •  Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 175–178 
  •  Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 233, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,692 times.