Handsworth St Mary, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Handsworth St Mary, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union West Bromwich PLU
Registration District West Bromwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Perry Barr beginning 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; Separate records exist for Perry Barr beginning 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West Bromwich
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Handsworth St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Handsworth with Soho, Perry Barr, and Oscott.

(St. Mary the Virgin), a parish, in the union of West Bromwich, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (N. W.) from Birmingham.  There is a place of worship for Independents in the Village. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Handsworth St Mary is an Ancient parish

Handsworth St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
HANDSWORTH ST MARY PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1558-1587, 1699-1751, 1774-1830

1558-1587, 1699-181

1558-1587, 1699-1728, 1774-1837

FS 1805-1865
1810-1837


Birmingham City Archives hold Bishop's transcripts Bap 1805-1865 Mar 1813-1837 Bur 1805-1889

The following parishes were formed from this parish

Handsworth St James formed in 1854 from part of Handsworth St Mary

Handsworth St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HANDSWORTH ST JAMES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1848-1856




Birmingham City Archives hold BT's Bap and Bur 1849-1856  no Mar records

Handsworth St Michael formed 1861 from part of Handsworth St Mary

Handsworth St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HANDSWORTH ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1861-1864




Birmingham City Archives hold Bt's Bap 1861-1864 only

Handsworth St Andrew formed 1914 from parts of Handsworth St Mary & Handsworth St James EP Birmingham City Archives hold no records for this parish


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

West Bromwich Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Handsworth/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [ http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51003 A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)], pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,906 times.