Hangleton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Hangleton, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hangleton, Sussex
Hangleton St Helen Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1727
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HANGLETON (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (N. W.) from Brighton.[1]

Hangleton St helen is An Ancient Parish in the Hangleton estate of West Hove East Sussex.

A history of the Church of St Helen Hangleton St Helen

The church of St Helen Hangleton Hove has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Hangleton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Hangleton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Hangleton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1697-1812, 1880-1886 (gaps)
1704, 1719-1812 (gaps)

BOYD
1677-1700

IGI 1727-1885 1727-1888

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hangleton

Census records

{{British Census|464160

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 August 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,058 times.