Hanley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Hanley, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hanley, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1789
Bishop's Transcripts: 1744
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hanley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1740 from Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

HANLEY, a township, in the parish, borough, and union of Stoke-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme, and 150 (N. W. by N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyaus, and other Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hanley St John was formed in 1740 formerly township in Stoke St Peter EP United with Hope HolyTrinity c 1940 Parish made redundant c 1976 but re-formed as the Holy Evangelists , also incorporating Etruria St Matthew. Church closed circa 1984

Hanley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
HANLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1789-1910
1837-1906


FMP 1789-1901 1789-1901 1837-1900 1837-1900 1827-1879 1827-1879
FREG 1789-1803


1829-1912
FS 1789-1915
1816-1835


Hanley St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hanley St Luke Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1848-1900 1848-1900 1854-1900 1854-1900

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1789-1956 Mar 1791-1976 Bur 1791-1912 These include some BT's with gaps
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop’s Transcripts Bap Mar Bur 1791-1835

Non-Conformist Churches

Charles St. Wesleyan Methodist Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  Charles St. Wesleyan Methodist Church(1918) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1818-1837



Cemetery Records

Hanley Cemetery[4]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1967-1969

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Hanley/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 396-401. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 August 2014.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,027 times.