Hanwell St Mary, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes

Hanwell St Mary, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.

Hanwell St Mary, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'Hanwell St. Mary, a parish (1570), in the union of Brentford, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 8 miles west of the City of London. There were chapels for Independents and Roman Catholics here.'[1]

The Victoria County History of Hanwell (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, the manor, estates, mills, economic and social history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Hanwell St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1570
1570
1570
Images
1570-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1803-1922 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1571-1837 FindMyPast[7] 1570-1866 BritishOrigins[8]
1571-1812 FamilyRelatives[9]
1571-1812 TheGenealogist[10]
1571-1812 Joiner[11]
1630-1631,
1639,
Post-1813
BritishOrigins[12]
    1790-1812 Ancestry[13]    
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[14]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.

1666 Hearth Tax
Hearth Tax
  • Allison, K.J. Ealing in the XVIIth Century: Hearth Tax Assessments for Ealing, Greenford, Hanwell, Northolt and Perivale. London: Ealing Local History Society, 1963. FHL Book 942.1 B4e no. 4.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), 401-404; digital version at British History Online, (accessed: 27 April 2010).
  2. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington (1962), pp. 13-33. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=85 Date accessed: 27 March 2012.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Hanwell in Ealing Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hanwell St Mary in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hanwell St Mary in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Hanwell St Mary in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  8. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  9. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  10. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  11. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  12. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 4,832 times.