Hapton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Hapton, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. {{Infobox England Jurisdictions

Hapton, Norfolk
Hapton St Margaret.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Depwade
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Depwade
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAPTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Long Stratton. There is a place of worship for Unitarians. [1]

Hapton St Margaret is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The heavy Victorian restoration including the addition of the tower have not entirely hidden the 14th century features of the church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Depwade

Church records

Hapton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Hapton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1857
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
NTA 1845


TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 236/ 1-5

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1725-1732, 1750-1812 Marriages 1727-1730, 1750-1810 Burials 1725-1733, 1750-1811
FHL BRITISH Film
1526807 Item 2

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438851.

Poor Law Unions

Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 404-407. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 00:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,201 times.