Harbledown, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Harbledown, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harbledown, Kent
Harbledown St Michael & All Angels Kent.jpg
Harbledown St Michael & All Angels Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARBLEDOWN (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Westgate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 1 mile (W. S. W.) from Canterbury.[1]


Harbledown is a village which is now contiguous with the city of Canterbury but anciently was a village close to the city. The civil parish of Harbledown and Rough Common is in the City of Canterbury district of Kent. See Harbledown Wikipedia which describes the parish church of St Michael and All Angels and the Ancient hospital of St Nicholas (now in use as alm houses).

Harbledown St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury. The west is the extensive extra parochial area of Dunkirk, Kent  and the neighbouring parish registers such as Harbledown are significant for those living in the extra parochial area.

The Church of St Michael and All Angels, Church Hill Harbledown has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Old Leper Church of St Nicholas Harbledown has been designated as a grade I listed building British Listed Building and is part of the 1840 rebuilding of the Hospital buildings as alm houses. Founded in 1080 by Archbishop Lanframe the hospital served two purposes, as a hospital church for lepers and as a final stopping place for pilgrims travelling to the City of Canterbury. See Kent Churches website

See also Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 7-21. at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harbledown, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
Harbledown, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSBOOK 1557-1800
1557-1800
1557-1800
IGI 1557-1800 1561-1800
PALL
1790-1800

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Harbledown Parish ( Borough of Harbledown) are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

See also images for Land tax assessments for the borough of Tunford, including the parishes of Thannington, Harbledown, and Chartham, 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,385 times.