Harborne, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Harborne, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harborne, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Kings Norton PLU
Registration District Kings Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West Bromwich
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARBORNE, or Harbourn (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of King's-Norton, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (S. W. by W.) from Birmingham. The Baptists and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]

Gazetteer / Directory Entries

HARBORNE, a parish in the southern division of the hundred of OFFLOW, county of STAFFORD 3 3/4 mike (S. W. by W.) from Birmingham, containing with the hamlet of Smethwick, 3350 inhabitants. The living is a vicarage, rated in the king's books at £4, endowed with £200 private benefaction, and £ 1200 royal bounty, and in the peculiar jurisdiction and patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, has a tower in the later style of English architecture, and has lately received an addition of three hundred and sixty sittings, of which two hundred and sixty are free, the Incorporated Society for the enlargement of churches and chapels having granted £250 towards defraying the expense. A school room has been endowed by Mr Henry Hinckley with three tenements producing an income of £24. 15. a year, for which sum forty children receive free instruction. [Lewis 1831]

Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harborne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
HARBORNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1851
FS 1660-1837, 1850-1869
1660-1774, 1813-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Harborne/index.html

From Tracing Your Ancestors in Birmingham on The Birmingham and Midland Society for genealogy and Herladry

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,768 times.