Hardin County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Hardin County

Guide to Hardin County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Hardin County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Hardin County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: March 2, 1839
County Seat Elizabethtown
Courthouse
Hardin County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address P.O. Box 187
Elizabethtown, Illinois 62931
618-287-2251

Contents

Hardin County Organization

Hardin County's civil records start the following years:

Beginning Dates for Hardin County Records

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1844
1884
1884
1840
1814
1884

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Hardin County are kept, see the Hardin County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Large numbers of Kentuckians settled in frontier Hardin County, Illinois. Names of the county (Hardin) and the county seat (Elizabethtown) are reminiscent of Hardin County, Kentucky - the previous residence of many pioneer settlers.[1]

Parent County

  • 1839--Hardin County was created 2 March 1839from Pope County. County seat:Elizabethtown [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

May 19, 1884 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.

For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following online Hardin County resources:

Bibliography Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave | national search | county list ePodunk
WorldCat USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project Illinois Cemetery Location Project

Illinois Cemeteries

ILGenWeb

Interment.net

Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project

Cemeteries of Hardin County

Confederate Soldiers buried in Hardin County

Local Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19007,448
19107,015−5.8%
19207,5337.4%
19306,955−7.7%
19407,75911.6%
19507,530−3.0%
19605,879−21.9%
19704,914−16.4%
19805,3839.5%
19905,189−3.6%
20004,800−7.5%
IL Counties 1900-1990
For tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Church Records

Catholic

FamilySearch has made parish records from a Belleville Diocese Catholic church in Hardin County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hardin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Ethic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts or copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hardin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

Maps

Ilhardin.jpg

Military Records

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Hardin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Hardin County.
- 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A and Company B.
- 131st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, and F.

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library

Newspapers and Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hardin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Hardin County are kept, see the Hardin County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Hardin County.

Public Libraries

Rosiclare Memorial Public Library
Main Street
Rosiclare, IL 62982
(618)285-6213

http://www.rosiclarelibrary.org/


Social Groups Online

Societies

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Taxation

Vital Records

See Gotoarrow.png Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Hardin County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Hardin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

General

Births

Abstracts of Birth Records

Copies of Birth Records

Marriages

Online Resources

Abstracts of Marriage Records

  • 1873–1914 Ferrell, Ed. Abstracts from Hardin County newspapers, 1873–1914: to reconstruct records lost in fire of 1884: Illinois State Historical Library microfilms. Juneau, AK: E. Ferrell, 1988. WorldCat 27668273; FHL film 1320702 Item 11
  • 1884–1891 Lee, Judy Foreman and Carolyn Cromeenes Foss. Hardin County, Illinois marriage register 1 May 1884–December 1891, volume I with annotations plus earlier marriage dates gleaned from other sources. Evansville, Indiana: Evansville Bindery, 1996. WorldCat 35451894FHL book 977.398 V2L

Copies of Marriage Records

Deaths

Online Resources

Abstracts of Death Records

  • 1884–1919 Reynolds, Marion Lavender. Hardin County, Illinois deaths, 1884–1919, and notes from the Pleasant Hill church register. Harrisburg, Illinois: M.L. Reynolds, c1995. WorldCat 34435115 FHL book 977.398 V2r

Copies of Death Records

Places / Localities

To see a list of places in Hardin County, click on [Show], in the bar above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Web Sites

References

  1. Hardin County Fact Sheet, Illinois State Archives, accessed May 28, 2011.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 194. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 15,735 times.