Harding County, South DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Harding County, South Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Harding County, South Dakota | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of South Dakota | |||||||||
![]() Location of South Dakota in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 5, 1881 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Buffalo | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Harding County Courthouse
901 Ramsland Street
Buffalo, SD 57720
Phone: 605.375.3351
Register of Deeds has birth, death, burial and land records from 1909;
County Treasurer has marriage records from 1909; Clerk Court has
divorce, proabte, court and school census records from 1909[1]
History
Parent County
1881--Harding County was created 5 March 1881 from unorganized territoy.
County seat: Buffalo [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Adams County, North Dakota
- Bowman County, North Dakota
- Butte
- Carter County, Montana
- Fallon County, Montana
- Perkins
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service
1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Harding County, South Dakota, p.625
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 20:49.
- This page has been accessed 1,528 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

