Hargrave, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Hargrave

Guide to Hargrave, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

History

HARGRAVE, is a chapelry, in the parish of Tarvin, the union of Great Boughton, and lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 6 miles (S. E. by E.) from Chester; the chapel, is dedicated to St. Michael.[1]

Hargrave St Peter Cheshire is a former chapelry and school within the Ancient Parish of Tarvin St Andrew Ancient parish. It owes its foundation as a church and school to Thomas Moulson who was born there.

The church was built in 1627 as a combined chapel and school by Thomas Moulson, a former native of the village.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Hargrave St Peter chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Hargrave St Peter Chapelry (1632) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1809-1890
1635-1864

FS PR's 1744-1883
  NONE
1746-1748
  NONE
1744-1746
  NONE
FS BT'S 1806-1890   NONE
1823-1857
  NONE
1809-1849
  NONE
FMP (£)



1700-1995
1700-1995
NBI

1700-1995

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Hargrave, 1744-1995 Hargrave is a chapelry in the parish of Tarvin.

Cheshire Record Office record number: P78/1, P78/3323/1, P78/6134/1.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms and burials, 1744-1813.  Marriages, 1746. Baptisms, 1813-1883. BRITISH 1656399 Items 2 - 3
Burials, 1813-1995. BRITISH 2262785 Item 3

Bishop's transcripts for Hargrave, 1631-1890 Cheshire Record Office Record number: EDB 103

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search

Bishop’s Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1631-1635, 1637, 1639-1641, 1816-1819. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1667, 1669, 1673, 1676-1678, 1680-1685, 1806-1807, 1809-1812, 1823, 1828-1831, 1835, 1841, 1849, 1851-1857, 1864. Baptisms, burials, 1813-1815, 1820-1822, 1824-1827, 1832-1840, 1842-1848, 1858-1863, 1865-1869, 1883-1890. Marriages, 1836. BRITISH 1655828 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Hargrave, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1859, closed in 1981.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference ZCR 484
Hargrave Methodist Church Date 1859-1966 Cash account books
A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in the village of Hargrave in 1859. Until 1959, it was on the St. John Street Methodist Circuit and from 1963, on the Chester Methodist Circuit. The church closed in 1981.

For other records of Hargrave Methodist Church, see Cheshire Record Office ZCR 55/116, ZCR 55/2/67, ZCR 55/3/75.
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-cr484&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Great Boughton (1837–71)
  • Tarvin (1871–1930)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 178–180

Hubbard, Edward (1991), The Work of John Douglas, London: The Victorian Society, ISBN 0 901657 16 6

Thomas Moulson

In the late Tudor times Thomas Moulson of Hargrave was sent to the Grammar School in Tarvin by his father, a farmer. It was a walk of several miles including a crossing of the little River Gowy. On one occasion after a severe thunderstorm the Gowy was flooded and Thomas had to sleep overnight in a hay stack. As this was not an infrequent happening Thomas swore that when he grew up he would build a church and school in Hargrave.
He left Hargrave and went to London and made his fortune. In 1627 he kept his promise and built a combined school and chapel at Hargrave.

Thomas Moulson became a Master Grocer in London and was so diligent in his trade that he rose through the ranks.

  • 1623 elected Alderman of the City of London
  • 1628 Thomas elected a Member of Parliament for the City of London
  • 1632 Governor of the Merchant Adventurers
  • 1634 elected Lord Mayor of London.

Thomas lived in and owned a large house on the site of what was to become the Bank of England.
Shortly before his death on 6th December 1638 Sir Thomas set up a Trust with land to maintain the church and school that he had established. The trust included annuities in perpetuity for the salary of the curate and the schoolmaster. The capital was invested in the Trust's name and still produces a substantial income today.
After the payment of expenses the balance of income is divided into three equal parts. These are as follows:

  • To pay a priest
  • To maintain the church
  • To promote the education of people under twenty-five years of age who are resident in the area

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,391 times.