Harmon County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Harmon County

Harmon County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Harmon County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Harmon County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 2, 1909
County Seat Hollis
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Harmon County Courthouse
County Courthouse
114 W. Hollis
Hollis, Oklahoma 73550
Phone: 580.688-3658

Contents

County Courthouse

Harmon County Courthouse
County Courthouse;
114 W Hollis;
Hollis, OK 73550
Phone: 580.688-3658 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce and court records[1]

History

Parent County

1909--Harmon County was created 2 June 1909 from Greer County. Many records from the area registered prior to this date can be found in Greer County.
County seat: Hollis [2]

Boundary Changes

Prior to 1909, Harmon County was a part of Greer County, Texas. Not until this year did a Supreme Court decision officially declare the area part of Oklahoma. As such, some records prior to this date may be found in Texas registers.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery indexes and transcriptions
Funeral Home records:

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Land records from 1909 are available in the County Courthouse and in the local County History Museum, both in Hollis.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harmon County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

  • Belle, Dean. Planning the Route, Harmon County, Oklahoma History (Harmon County Historical Association, 1980).
  • Carter, Edith. Planning Route 2, Harmon County, Oklahoma History (Altus Printing Company, 1987).

Maps

Okharmon.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harmon County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Microfilms of many editions of these historical newspapers are available at the Harmon County Library in Hollis.

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Tax records from 1909 can be found at the County Courthouse in Hollis, though the local historical society stores many of these log books in the County History museum. Just ask to see them if you wish.

Vital Records

The County Courthouse has birth, marriage, and death records from 1909.

Societies and Libraries

  • Harmon County Genealogical Society
    102 W. Broadway Str.
    Hollis, OK 73550
    phone: 580-688-9545
    fax: 580-688-2622
    harcomuseum@pldi.net
  • Hollis Public Library
    W. Broadway & 2nd Street
    Hollis,OK 73550
    ph: (580)688-2744
    fax: (580)688-9736
    Toll free: (888)554-5358
    email:hpl@spls.lib.ok.us
  • Harmon County Courthouse
    114 N. First
    Hollis, Oklahoma 73550
    ph: 580-688-3617

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harmon County, Oklahoma. Page 559 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 8,226 times.