Harnett County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Harnett County
Guide to Harnett County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Harnett County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | February 7, 1855 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Lillington | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Harnett County Courthouse
729 S Main Street P O Box 279
Lillington, NC 27546
Phone: 910-893-7540
Register of deeds has birth, marriage and land land rec
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1920
records from 1855-1920 were destroyed in a fire[1]
History
Parent County
1855--Harnett County was created 7 February 1855 from Cumberland County.
County seat: Lillington [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1892, 1894--Courthouse fires destroyed court records and many of the land records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- Harnett Cemeteries Database - online database from the Harnett public library. Change "database type" to "Obituary." Includes approximately 20 years of burial information, including some obituaries.
- Harnett County Cemteries - NCGenWeb
- Harnett County Cemteries - NCGenWeb Archives
- Find-A-Grave: Harnett County Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Harnett County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Presbyterian
- Barbecue, near Olivia, N.C. Founded 1757.[3] Previously located in Cumberland County.
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Harnett County.
- March 16, 1865 = Averasborough, also known as Taylor’s Hole Creek, Smithville, Smiths Ferry, or Black River[4]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Search Birth, Marriage & Death certificates at the Harnett County Register of Deeds website. Uncertified copies can be ordered for a fee (see website for details).
Births
- 1892-1967 - Harnett County Marriage Index 1892-1967 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Yearbooks
- Campbell University: 1912-2009
- Harnett county students at North Carolina colleges - a list from the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- NCGenWeb: Harnett County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harnett County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ "Barbecue Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.
| This North Carolina-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 15:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,565 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


