Harney County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Harney County

Guide to Harney County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Harney County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Harney County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 23, 1889
County Seat Burns
Courthouse
Or-harney-ch.jpg
Website: www.co.harney.or.us
Named for: Gen. William Shelby Harney
Harney-williamselby.jpg

Contents

County Courthouse
 


Harney County Courthouse
450 North Buena Vista Avenue
Burns, Or 97720
Phone: 541-573-6641

County Clerk has marriage records from 1911,
land and probate records from 1889, military
records from 1943 and naturalization records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records. [1]

Harney County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Harney County Court House as of July 2008.

Harney County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Harney County, Oregon

Named for Brig. Gen. William S. Harney of U.S. Army, who was involved in "Pig War" and popular in the Pacific Northwest.

Parent County

23 February 1889: Harney county was created from Grant County. [2]

Boundary Changes

No parts were taken to create any county.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1870, part of Grant County. Entire area that later formed Harney County was not enumerated.
  • 1880, part of Grant County. Entire area that later formed Harney County was not enumerated.
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Hines, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orharney.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries, Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

United States

Websites

Harney County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harney County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 May 2014, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 8,065 times.