Harpurhey, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Harpurhey, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harpurhey, Lancashire
Harpurhey Christ Church contributor David Dixon.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prestwich PLU
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HARPURHEY, a township with a district chapel in the parish of Manchester, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2½ miles north by northeast of Manchester, on the road to Rochdale. The ecclesiastical district of Harpurhey is eight miles in circumference, and comprises the whole of this township and the township of Moston, and part of Collihurst. The chapel was built in 1838. Near here and on the road to Manchester is the General Cemetery, opened in September 1837 and is for all denominations.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions for Harpurhey Christ Church chapelry as well as for the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys, for the baptism, marriage and burial registers for both. Displayed below are those online data-sets located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
HARPURHEY CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1838) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1838-1914 1840-1930 1838-1963
FS 1764-1910 1840-1927 None
LOPC None 1837-1962  None
HARPURHEY ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1899) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1899-1914 1901-1930

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of (over 150) chapelries, ecclesiastical and district chapels comprising Manchester's ancient parish boundary, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE, & ST DENYS page.

Original Records The original parish (chapelry) registers for Harpurhey are available at the Manchester Central Library archive.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438733.


Poor Law Unions

Prestwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 413-416. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,240 times.