Harrison County, Kentucky GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Harrison County, Kentucky)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kentucky Gotoarrow.png Harrison County

Guide to Harrison County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Harrison County, Kentucky
Map of Kentucky highlighting Harrison County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Founded December 21, 1793
County Seat Cynthiana
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Harrison Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


Harrison County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1794 1852 1810 1794 1794
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Harrison County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Harrison County Courthouse
315 Oddville Avenue
Cynthiana, KY 31031
Phone: 859.234.7130[1]

Harrison County Kentucky History

Parent County

1793--Harrison County was created 21December 1793 from Bourbon and Scott Counties.
County seat: Cynthiana [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1851--A disaster destroyed some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Harrison County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Alberta Claysville Jones Shop (hist.) Robinson
Antioch Colemansville Lair Rutland
Belmont Colville Lees Lick Sunrise
Berry Connersville Leesburg Sylvandell
Boyd Cynthiana Oddville Venus
Breckinridge Garnett Poindexter White Oak (hist.)
Broadwell Hinton Renaker
Buena Vista Kelat

Neighboring Counties

Harrison County Kentucky Genealogy Resources


African Americans

The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:


Biographies of Harrison County Kentucky


Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.


Historical populations
Census Pop.

For tips on accessing Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.



  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy:

- 3rd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Company A.
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- 9th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- 18th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies H, I and K

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Harrison County.

  • June 11-12, 1864 = Cynthiana, also known as Kellar’s Bridge[5]
Map showing Civil War battles in Kentucky.



Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[6] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Harrison County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records

  • 1852-1860 - Harrison County Birth Index 1852-1860. Batch C517461 at FamilySearch - free.[7]

Harrison County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Harrison County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Harrison County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harrison County, Kentucky page 271, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)
  6. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 October 2015, at 15:43.
  • This page has been accessed 20,448 times.