Harrow Weald, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Harrow Weald, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harrow Weald, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gore
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hendon PLU
Registration District Hendon
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARROW-WEALD, ahamlet and a chapelry in Harrow-on-the-Hill parish, Middlesex. The hamlet lies ¾ of a mile N of Harrow r. station, and 2 N of Harrow; and has a post office under Stanmore, London, NW. The chapelry was constituted in 1845.[1]

All Saints Harrow Weald lies within the civil parish boundaries of Harrow-on-the-Hill.

This smaller district church was created in 1845 and building of All Saints' Church was started in 1846. The church was the work of the prolific Victorian architect William Butterfield famous for the controversial Keble College, Oxford and many other works. Following its dedication on All Saints' Day 1849, further work was carried out and extensions completed in 1890.

See their web site.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

findmypast[2] has digitised baptisms

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Harrow Weald All Saints Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (255+ entries)

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Harrow on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 9 January 2014.
  2. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,397 times.