Hartburn, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Hartburn, Northumberland)

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Hartburn, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

HARTBURN, a parish, in the unions of Castle ward, Morpeth, and Rothbury, chiefly in the W. division of Morpeth ward, but partly in the N. E. division of Tindale ward, N. and S. divisions of Northumberland. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts

  • Northumberland North Second Registration District
  • Northumberland Central Registration District.

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Bowman, John. My Bowman Family in Northumberland and Durham. History and family tree of Mark Bowman and Ruth surname not listed. Dates from 1682-1902, with relatives in Ray, Kirkwhelpington, Hartington, Cambo, Low Angerton, Hartburn and Middleton. Surnames, Beller, Laidler, Charlton, Sinship, angus, Stamper, Hardcastle, Stephenson, Aslin, Fenwick, and Sweeting. Photos included are of 2 gravestones, the marriage of Anna Bowman and the Rev. Harrison Fenwick, John Harcastle Bowman, and Henry Bowman. Article in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journam. vol. 38, no.1. pages 25-29. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol. 38,1. Spring 2013.

Poor Law Unions

  • Morpeth Poor Law Union

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Date accessed: 23 May 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 17:58.
  • This page has been accessed 393 times.