Hartfield, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Hartfield, Sussex
Hartfield St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartfield
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Grinstead PLU
Registration District East Grinstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling; Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARTFIELD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Grinsted, hundred of Hartfield, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (E. S. E.) from East Grinsted; comprising North and South Hartfield.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Hartfield St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which included Cay Street, South Hartfield Holly Hill, Shepherds Corner, Holtye Common, Perry Hill, Colemans Hatch, Bolebrooke, North Hartfield, and Gallypot Street. The civil Parish of Hartfield is within the Wealden district of East Sussex and includes the settlements at Colemans Hatch Hammerwood and Holtye in the northern edge of Ashdown Forest Hartfield Wikipedia.

A history of the church and parish is available at Sussex parish churches Hartfield St Mary

The church of Hartfield St Mary Church Street has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Hartfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Hartfield, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Hartfield, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1648-1654, 1696-1899
1696-1881, 1890-1891

IGI 1648-1754


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hartfield

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1821 census for Hartfield is available through the Family HIstory Library and on the catalog for www.familysearch.org

 

Manor records

Using Manorial Records - an Example.

Manorial records maybe used to determine relationships and the history of a Manor.  A facsimile and transcription are given.  Surnames mentioned are Raynes, Medherst, Humfrey, Swaisland, Courthope and Everest.  Article covers years 1656-1658, and is to be found in Sussex Family Historian vol. #6, Sept. 1974, pages 170-171, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su

Poor Law Unions

East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites  

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,544 times.