Harthill, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png  Harthill

Guide to All Saints, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints Church, Harthill.jpg

Contents

Parish History

HARTHILL (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, the higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 2 miles (S. S. E.) from Tattenhall. The parish is situated about three-quarters of a mile from the road from Tarporley and Nantwich to Wrexham.[1]

Harthill All Saints is an Ancient parish in Cheshire, and is now a redundant church adapted for use as community facility for the village and surrounding area.

A chapel is first mentioned on this site in 1280. It is likely that the earlier church was timber framed. The present church was built in 1609. A restoration was carried out in 1862–63 and at this time a vestry was added to the north side and a larger belfry was erected.

Harthill is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Harthill All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Harthill All Saints Parish (1599) Online Records
aptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1599-1871
1599-1783

FS PR's 1730-1813
  NONE
1736-1830
  NONE
1734-1813
  NONE
FS BT'S 1720-1903
  NONE
1720-1904
  NONE
1720-1906
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Harthill, 1730-1836 Cheshire Record Office reference number: P111/1/1-2, P111/2, P111/3/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1734-1813. Banns, 1804-1812. Marriages, 1734-1799, 1816-1830. Burials, 1734-1813. Persons receiving charity, 1803-1812. BRITISH 1656398 Items 6 - 10

Bishop's transcripts for Harthill, 1599-1906 Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 104.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599, 1604, 1606, 1610, 1613-1614, 1618, 1622-1629, 1631, 1633, 1635, 1639, 1641, 1664, 1666, 1670-1671, 1674-1676, 1679-1685, 1687-1695, 1720-1721, 1723-1760, 1762-1783. BRITISH 1655828 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1783-1812, 1816, 1822-1823, 1828, 1830, 1840, 1845, 1850-1853, 1857, 1860-1861, 1868-1880, 1884-1885, 1894. Baptisms, burials, 1813-1815, 1817-1821, 1824-1827, 1829, 1831-1839, 1841-1844, 1846-1849, 1854-1856, 1858-1859, 1862-1867, 1881-1883, 1886-1893, 1895-1898, 1900-1902. Burials, 1904, 1906. Baptisms, 1903. Marriages, 1894. BRITISH
1655829 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 180–184

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,299 times.