Hartlepool, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Hartlepool, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hartlepool, Durham
St Hilda's church, Hartlepool - geograph org uk - 979761.jpg
St Hilda's church, Hartlepool - geograph org uk - 979761
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Hartlepool
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARTLEPOOL (St. Hilda), a sea-port, incorporated market-town, and parochial chapelry, in the union of Stockton, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 19 miles (E. S. E.) from Durham, and 257 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Presbyterians, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

In 1724 the parish of St. Hilda was created from the nearby ancient parish of Hart, Durham. Subsequent parishes of Holy Trinity and St Barnabas were created in the town of Hartlepool.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish records

The Parish Registers for the period 1566-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Ha.SH). Engineering work will be undertaken in future to improve access to the Parish Register transcripts at FamilySearch Historical Records.

  • Hartlepool, Holy Trinity 1852-1980 (EP/Ha.HT).
  •  Hartlepool, St. Barnabas 1905-1951 (EP/Ha.HT).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/126 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. They contain under that reference the 1897 transcript of the burial of West Hartlepool Friends.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.

References

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 October 2014, at 18:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,997 times.