Harty, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Harty, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Harty, Kent
Harty St Thomas Kent.jpg
Harty St Thomas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HARTY, ISLE of (St. Thomas the Apostle), a parish, in the union of Sheppy, hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 11 miles (S. E. by E.) from Queenborough.[1]


Harty St Thomas is an Ancient parish in the remote Isle of Harty marshland to the south east of the Isle of Sheppey in Kent.

The Norman rustic church was rebuilt in the 15th century.

Harty Ferry across the Swale joined the Isle of Harty  to the mainland near Oare and Uplees.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Harty, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Harty, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1680-1813
1681-1835
1679-1812
FS PRs 1680-1813 1680-1813, 1819-1835 1680-1813

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306868.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 427-431. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:52.
  • This page has been accessed 1,672 times.