Harvey County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Harvey County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Harvey County

Guide to Harvey County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}} Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Harvey County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Harvey County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 29, 1872
County Seat Newton
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Harvey County Courthouse
800 N. Main Street
Newton, Kansas 67114-0687
Phone: 316.284.6840

Contents

County Information

Harvey County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Tax Land Probate
1886 1872 1886 1860 1872 1872

County Courthouse

Harvey County Courthouse
800 N Main
Newton, KS 67114
Phone: 316.284.6840

Probate Court has marriage records from 1800’s.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1872.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1800’s. [2]

History

Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksharvey.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Harvey County Genealogical Society Cemetery Index

All cemeteries are listed and all burials are included both in the alphabetical index by cemetery and in the Biographical Database. All cemeteries and all known burials, 1871 through 2015, are included.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Harvey County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Harvey County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Harvey and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Mennonite Library and Archives (MLA), Bethel College, Kansas

Registration of German Alien Enemies: Index includes name, birthdate and birthplace

All natives, citizens, denizens or subjects of the German Empire in the US who were 14 years old and older were required to register as 'alien enemies'.

State Census indexes: Contains 3 1875 State Census databases from this area and some townships.

Harvey County Marriage License Index: This alphabetical index covers 1872-4/1913. Copies of originals are availabe from the Harvey County Historical Society.

Various other helpful genealogical indexes are availabe

Harvey County Genealogical Society

All headstones in Harvey County have been photographed & indexed. We are currently collecting biographical and obituary information on all former residents. Free Society membership.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Harvey County, Kansas page 251, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 November 2015, at 03:51.
  • This page has been accessed 7,092 times.