Harwood, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Harwood, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Harwood, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HARWOOD (Christ Church), a township, in the parish and union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Bolton-Cross. The township lies northward of the new road between Bolton and Bury, and is separated from Tonge by Bradshaw Brook. A church was consecrated in Oct. 1841, and an ecclesiastical district, called Christ Church, has been formed of parts of the townships of Harwood and Breightmet. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship; and the Wesleyans a school at Longsight. A portion of an ancient Roman road crosses a considerable eminence in the north-east part of the township, in the direction of Tottington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Harwood chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton le Moors to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HARWOOD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1846-1992 None
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes(ancient parish containing HARWOOD Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  1573-1660; 1713-1829 1573-1837 None
LOPC 1573-1660 1573-1660; 1813-1938 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801
LBMD 1837-1886 1837-1992 1837-1886
AC 1587-1660 1587-1660 1587-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Harwood and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton le Moors to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON LE MOORS ST PETER PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306921.


Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 431-435. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,264 times.