Harworth, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Harworth, Nottinghamshire ancestry and family history: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|[[File::Harworth All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg|200px]]|
:Harworth All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Worksop PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
HARWORTH (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Worksop, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (W. S. W.) from Bawtry. It lies on the western verge of the county, between Blyth and Tickhill. The hamlets of Hesley and Limpool are part of Harworth, Martin forms the north-eastern hamlet, near Bawtry; and Serlby hamlet or manor. It includes part of the townships of Styrrup and Oldcoates the rest of which is in the parish of Blyth.
Harworth All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire and includes Bircotes, Hesle, Limpole, Serlby, Norney, Plumtree, and Martin.The civil parish is that of Harworth and Bircotes Bircotes Wikipedia
The Parish Church of All Saints Church Lane Harworth has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
The graveyard contains the burial of Tom Simpson(30 November 1937–13 July 1967) Wikipedia Find a Grave
From this parish Bircotes Christ Church, Nottinghamshire was formed built in 1924 by the Barber Walker Company who also built the Church Hall and Vicarage.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Harworth, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Harworth, Nottinghamshire Parish Online Records|
Harworth All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1953 Marriages 1538-1960 Burials 1538-1929 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1852
Harworth St Mary Magdalene's Chapel Baptisms 1866-1926
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Harworth <
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
See Nottinghamshire Census
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Harworth in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Harworth/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2015, at 01:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,750 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More