Haslingden, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Haslingden, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haslingden, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Haslingden PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

HASLINGDEN (St. James), a market-town and parochial chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Whalley, Higher and Lower divisions of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 17 miles north of Manchester. This chapelry, which is divided into four parts, namely, Haslingden, Henheads, and Higher and Lower Booths. Haslingden St James was erected and in operation by the year 1598 and was a parochial chapelry. As such, it also held ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the chapels in the church districts at both Rawtenstall and Higher Booths. In this township were numerous dissenting groups, including places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Roman Catholics, Unitarians, Society of Friends, Wesleyan Methodists, Sandemanians, and Swedenborgians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Haslingden chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


HASLINGDEN ST JAMES Chapelry  (1603) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1699-1844 1721-1900 1841-1848
LOPC 1683-1844 1603-1739, 1741-1837 1683-1844
LBMD 1837-1851 1837-2003 1837-1938
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1603-1683
1603-1698
1603-1679
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes  (ancient parish containing HASLINGDEN Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Haslingden and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306897.

Genealogy

Hornby, Michael J. K. Direct Descendants of James Hornby. Family Tree of James Hornby and Alice Mills - she was born in Rochdale, Lancashire, and their descendants which scatter throughout Lancashire, then to Ontario, Canada from about 1910, with the following surnames. Barlow, Harrison, Hargrave, Showell, Drovin, Burkett, Johnston, Family Tree dates from 1799-1995, and is in Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 18, no.2. May 1997, FHL 942.72 B2r.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 435-441. Adapted.Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,054 times.