Haslington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Haslington

Guide to Haslington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

HASLINGTON, is a village and a township-chapelry in Barthomley parish, Cheshire. The village stands near the Northwestern railway, it is 2½ miles NE of Crewe; and has a post office under Crewe. There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Primitive Mcthodists.[1]

Haslington St Matthew, Cheshire was a former chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Barthomley.

Pevsner describes this as a church of "two builds", both of which are "handsome". The west part was built in 1810. The east end was built in in 1909 and was designed by Reginald T. Longden.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.

Church records

Haslington St Matthew Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Haslington St Matthew Chapelry (1645) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1647-1907
  NONE
1714-1926
  NONE
1812-1899
  NONE
FS BT'S 1665-1876
  NONE
1868-1872
  NONE
1815-1876
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Haslington, 1645-1926

Haslington was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Barthomley.
Some records in Latin. Cheshire Record Office reference: P43/1/1-4, P43/2/1-3, P43/3/1, P43/4/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1645-1907. Collections, 1645-1673, 1716-1731. Marriages, 1735-1752, 1761, 1841-1926. Burials, 1812-1899. BRITISH 2186911 Items 2 - 11

Bishop's transcripts for Haslington, 1665-1876 Haslington was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Barthomley.
Some records in Latin. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 105.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Record Search

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1665-1667, 1671, 1673. Marriages, 1868-1872, Baptisms, burials, 1812-1876. BRITISH 1655829 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Haslington, Baptist Union Chapel. Founded 1884, the chapel was opened in 1887 and closed in 1971. Registers of marriages 1908–71 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Haslington, Free Gospel Mission. Built in 1870.
Winterley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1834.
Haslington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1909.
Haslington, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1810.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 213  Haslington Primitive Methodist Chapel Date 1870-1957  Minutes, fire insurance policy and notice of registration AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1868 and rebuilt in 1903.  3 items  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems213&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 58  Haslington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Date 19th century - 20th century Various records1896-1977 URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems58&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 214 Haslington, Oakhanger Chapel Date 1894-1975  Minutes, fire insurance policies, London Gazette notice AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in the 1830s. Extent 4 items URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems214&cid=0 Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 215 Haslington, Winterley Chapel Date 1903-1906  Letter about erection of new schoolroom AdminHistory The chapel was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1834. 4 documents  http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems215&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Nantwich

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). date Accessed: 5 March 2013

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 235, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,915 times.