Hastings St Clement Halton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Hastings St Clement Halton family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hastings St Clement Halton, Sussex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hastings Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hastings PLU
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hastings.-- parl. and mun. bor., watering-place, market town, and one of the Cinque Ports, E. Sussex, 34 miles E. of Brighton and 62 miles SE. of London.[1]

Hastings St Clement, Halton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1839 from Hastings St Clement, Sussex Ancient Parish.

Church History from Sussex Parish Churches Hastings St Clement Halton

See: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 435-441.  here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hastings St Clement Halton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.


Poor Law Unions

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Hastings/

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 27 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,175 times.