Hastings St Michael, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hastings St Michael, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hastings St Michael, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Hastings PLU|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Lewes.-- mun. bor., market town, and co. town of Sussex, on river Ouse, 8 miles NE. of Brighton and 50 miles S. of London by rail - bor., 1087 ac., pop. 11,199; town, 119ac. The mun. bor. of Lewes was incorporated in 1881. Lewes returned 1 member to Parliament until 1885.
Hastings St Michael is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hastings St Michael is an extra parochial place.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hastings St Michael
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:33.
- This page has been accessed 830 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More