Hatfield St Mary, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Hatfield St Mary, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hatfield St Mary, Hertfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broadwater
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hatfield PLU
Registration District Hatfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hertford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hatfield (St. Mary) is a chapelry. The church was built in 1848, and was originally known as St. Mary's Tolmers. It is now known as St. Mary, Ponsbourne which was created in 1912. It is located in the centre of Newgate Street Village. It was originally in the parish of Hatfield.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hatfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
Hatfield Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1863-1868, 1876-1879


BOYD
1609-1703

FMP 1863-1901 1863-1901 1878-1901 1878-1901
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1604-1875 (gaps) 1604-1837 (gaps)
JOIN
1604-1837

NBI

1702-1921

Hatfield St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hatfield St Mark Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1855-1906


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288826.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Walesc, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 20 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013. Described as 'Hatfield St Etheldreda.'

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 15:45.
  • This page has been accessed 626 times.