Hawkhurst, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent     Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hawkhurst, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hawkhurst, Kent
Hawkhust The Moor St Lawrence Kent.jpg
Hawkhust The Moor St Lawrence Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Barnfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook PLU
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAWKHURST (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Cranbrooke, partly in the hundred of Henhurst, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, but chiefly in the hundred of East Barnfield, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 8 miles (S. E.) from Lamberhurst. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Hawkhurst is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells borough  in Kent see also Hawkhurst Wikipedia.

The Parish of Hawkhurst St Lawrence is within the Diocese of Chichester but part of the Deanery in the Weald since 2008 Deanery website. A part of the parish boundary extends into the county of Sussex and neighbours Ticehurst, Sussex and Hurst Green which is in Etchingham, Sussex A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The parish church of  St Lawrence (sometimes Laurence) is to the south of the village in the The Moor, the other part of the village settlement Highgate had a chapel of ease All Saints until that was declared redundant in 2004.Kent Churches website

Hawkhust All Saints Kent.jpg

St Lawrence was built on the site in the 12th century although the present church was mostly added from 1450 when the church was enlarged and a tower added.

From 1944 flying bomb damage until 1957 restoration the church was not  used.

The church of St Laurence, Horns Road, Hawkhurst has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also the survey of St Laurence Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 142-157. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The Church of All Saints, Rye Road, Hawkhurst has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The village also includes the Roman Catholic church of St Barnabas, a Baptist church and a Methodist chapel.


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Cranbrook registration district.

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hawkhurst, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[6]
Hawkhurst, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1550-1853
1550-1837
1550-1866
FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Hawkhurst

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census returns for Hawkhurst 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Cranbrook Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 447-450. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 20:05.
  • This page has been accessed 4,673 times.