Haydon, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Haydon, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haydon, Northumberland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Warden
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hexham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAYDON, a chapelry, in the parish of Warden, union of Hexham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 7 miles (W.) from Hexham, 27 (W.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and 30 (E.) from Carlisle. The village of Haydon-Bridge, situated on both sides of the South Tyne river, is in this chapelry. The present chapel, dedicated to St. Cuthbert, and forming a chapel of ease, was built in 1796, on a new site, near the north end of the bridge. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. The chapel of Langley stood on the south side of the river, perhaps on the ground called Chapel Hill.

WARDEN (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Hexham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 2½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Hexham with the townships of Brokenheugh, Deanraw, and Lipwood, and the parochial chapelries of Newbrough and Haydon. Simonburn Chapelry was created in 1867 and a chapel constructed within it, in 1868.[1]

Additional information:

Warden St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the county of Northumberland. Newbrough and Haydon Bridge are chapelries in Warden.

Other places in the parish include: Allerwash, Brokenheugh, Elrington, Four Stones, High Warden and Walwick Grange, Lipwood, Morralee, Nether Warden, Walwick, and Whinnetley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/260 Date: 1769-1878
Contents: Including transcripts from Haydon Bridge, 1783-1843, and Newbrough, 1769-1878 DDR/EA/PBT/2/129
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.Warden, St Michael and All Angels: Records of baptisms, 1695-1979, marriages 1695-1996 and burials 1695-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1695-1724 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1695-1723. Transcripts of baptisms 1695-1979, marriages 1695-1943 and burials 1695-1978 for Warden are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Warden (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 338 times.