Hayes, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Hayes, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Hayes, Kent
Hayes St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Hayes St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAYES (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 2 miles (S.) from Bromley.[1]
Hayes is a place in the London Borough of Bromley and formerly a village and civil parish in Kent Hayes Bromley Wikipedia It should not be confused with Hayes, Middlesex

Hayes St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish. Although some 13th century features remain the church has been extensively restored and added to not least in 1856 and 1862 by Sir George Gilbert Scott and the later 1879 addition designed by his son. Further 20th century restoration and addition took place.

Both William Pitt the Elder, 1st Earl of Chatham (1708–1778), and William Pitt the Younger (1759–1806) lived at Hayes Place. The house was demolished in 1933 and the site redeveloped, but roads in the area bear witness to them: Chatham and Pittsmead Avenues are two examples. Prior to being demolished, Hayes Place was owned by the Hambro family (of banking fame) and a couple of roads bear the family names.

There are memorials within the church for both Pitts There is also a memorial to Sir Vicary Gibbs, Lord Chief Justice of England in 1814. There is an imposing wall monument, a white marble cartouche with drapery, to Ann Cleaver who died in 1737. The earliest brasses are of five priests – John Ostler (1461), John Andrew (1479), John Heygge (1523), Robert Garrett (1566) and John Hoare (1584).

In the churchyard stands the imposing memorial to Sir Everard Hambro as well as the graves of many other notables, including General Alexander Mackenzie Fraser (1809). There is also the grave of 9yr old John Panis of the North American Panis tribe, brought to this country as a slave in 1763.

The church of Hayes St Mary the Virgin Hayes Street has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 22-29 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Hayes North West kent Family History Society and St Mary the Virgin

Hayes includes:

Our Lady of the Rosary Roman Catholic Church

Hayes Methodist Church.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hayes, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Hayes, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1670-1728

FS BTs 1813-1903 1813-1903 1813-1903
FS PRs 1539-1876 1539-1777, 1814-1876; 1755-1876 (banns) 1539-1876
IGI 1539-1875 1539-1876

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1539-1875 Batches (C131481, C131482) Marriages 1539-1876 Batches (M131481, M131482)

Deposited Parish registers are held at Bromley Archives reference P 180

Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
e-mail: localstudies.library@bromley.gov.uk

Land Tax

Images for Hayes are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census Returns for Hayes 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

See See England, Kent, Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 450-454. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 2,319 times.