Hayle St Elwyn, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Hayle St Elwyn, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hayle St Elwyn, Cornwall
Hayle St Elwyn.jpg
Hayle St Elwyn
Type Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1888
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Hayle (Cornish: Heyl); church of St Elwyn was built in 1886-88 to the design of J. D. Sedding. According to Pevsner it is "loud outside ... and dull inside" [Pevsner, N. (1970) Cornwall; 2nd ed., rev. by Enid Radcliffe. Penguin; p. 80]

Hayle parish was created in 1888 from part of the now defunct  Phillack, Cornwall parish, with which it was later combined in 1935, and incorporated part of  St Erth, Cornwall in 1937. The modern parish shares boundaries with  St Ives, Cornwall to the west, St Erth to the south,  Gwinear and  Gwithian in the east

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Hayle St Elwyn, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[1]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Hayle St Elwyn, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1888-1913
1888-1913

FMP 1888-1890
FREG 1888-1901
1888-1901

FS PRs 1888-1901 1888-1901

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 54

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. John Smith also has a website http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~phillack/ for Phillack, Cornwall and Hayle

Census records

Overview, Include any unique information such as, the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Hayle St Elwyn in GENUKI

References

  1. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,042 times.