Hayton, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Cumberlandgo to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Hayton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hayton, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton PLU
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1619
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAYTON (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 8 miles (E. by N.) from Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Hayton was in Brampton district. To search an index of Brampton district records go to FreeBMD. The Cumberland Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Parish registers for Hayton, 1620-1986

Bishop's transcripts Hayton, 1665-1874

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

There are census records available for Hayton from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the Hayton censuson microfilm, refer to the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Cumberland Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hayton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 16:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,095 times.