Hayton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Hayton, Nottinghamshire
[[File::Hayton St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg|200px]]
:Hayton St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford PLU
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


HAYTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (N. E. by N.) from East Retford. On the west, at the distance of about one and a half mile, is the hamlet of Tiln in which was a church, long since gone to decay. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information:

Hayton St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.

The Parish Church of St Peter Hayton has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

see also Hayton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Hayton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
HAYTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Hayton St Peter

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1665-1975 Marriages 1655-1982 Burials 1655-1983 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1862
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hayton

Hayton - St. Peter's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the church, dated from 1735, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 34-39, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Hayton in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Hayton/index.html

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,108 times.