Haywards Heath, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Haywards Heath, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Haywards Heath, a parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Haywards Heath, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Haywards Heath, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1865-1876 1866-1876
PRTS 1865-1904
1866-1901
1865-1901
SOPC Undefined


Haywards Heath Church of the Ascension, Sussex
Haywards Heath Church of the Good Shepherd, Sussex
Haywards Heath Church of the Presentation, Sussex
Haywards Heath Congregational Church(United Reformed Church), Sussex
HaywardsHeath, Elfinsward, The Chapel
Holy Cross Convent Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Haywards Heath Jireh Strict Baptist Chapel, Sussex
Haywards Heath Methodist Church, Sussex
Old Congregational Chapel (St Edmund's) see Old Congregational Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Our Lady of Good Counsel Chapel (The Priory) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Primitive Methodist Church (Baptist) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Francis Hospital Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Paul(Roman Catholic) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Haywards Heath, St Richard,Sussex
Haywards Heath St Wilfrid, Sussex

Haywards Heath was part of East Sussex until 1974 when it became part of the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex

See also Haywards Heath Wikipedia and Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Haywards Heath West Sussex list of places to worship in Mid-Sussex

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Family History Centre

Haywards Heath England Family History Centre

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Cuckfield/

References

  1. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 887 times.