Haywood, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Haywood, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haywood, Herefordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree; Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAYWOOD-FOREST, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Webtree, county of Hereford, 2½ miles (S. S. W.) from Hereford; containing 123 inhabitants. The district comprises 711 acres, and is intersected by the Hereford and Grosmont railway. [1]

HAYWOOD-TOWNSHIP, an extra-parochial liberty, in the Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford. It comprises 780 acres of land, intersected by the Hereford and Grosmont railway; and on the north-west is connected with Haywood-Forest. [2]

Haywood is a civil parish in Herefordshire with no substantial settlements and is south west of Hereford.

Haywood is an extra parochial place in Herefordshire which neighbours Clehonger, Herefordshire Hereford St John the Baptist, Herefordshire Upper and Lower Bullinghope with Grafton, Herefordshire Callow, Herefordshire Dewsall, Herefordshire Much Dewchurch, Herefordshire and Allensmore, Herefordshire

See also the Haywood Forest entry in the National Gazetteer 1868 transcribed by Colin Hinson

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

See parish history section for links to neighbouring parishes and their records.

Census records

Census returns for Haywood 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Haywood/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 454-456. Adapted: 30 Jan 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 454-456. Adapted: 30 Jan 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 September 2014, at 15:13.
  • This page has been accessed 449 times.