Haywood County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Haywood County, North Carolina)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Haywood County

Guide to Haywood County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records



Haywood County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Haywood County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 15, 1808
County Seat Waynesville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Haywood Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Haywood County Courthouse
215 N Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828-452-6635

The Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.

The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records. [1]

History

Parent County

1808 - Haywood County was established 15 December 1808 from Buncombe.

County seat: Waynesville [2]

Boundary Changes

Haywood County was formed from the western portion of Buncombe County in 1808. At the time of its formation, it stretched from Buncombe County to the Tennessee state line. In 1828, the western portion of Haywood County became Macon County. Parts of Haywood and Macon Counties were used to form Jackson county in 1851.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1932 - Records were lost/destroyed during move into a new courthouse.

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Canton
  • Clyde
  • Hazelwood
  • Lake Junaluska
  • Maggie Valley
  • Waynesville

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nchaywood.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Haywood County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.


Church

Court

The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.

Haywood County Clerk of Superior Court
285 N Main St
Suite 1500
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 454-6501

Land

The Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.

Haywood County Register of Deeds
County Courthouse
215 N Main Street Suite 213
Waynesville, NC 28786

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company L
:- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E

Newspapers

Probate

The Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.

Haywood County Clerk of Superior Court
285 N Main St
Suite 1500
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 454-6501

Taxation

Vital Records

The Haywood County Register of Deeds holds vital records.  Birth and death records are available from 1913. Marriage records are available from 1808.

Haywood County Register of Deeds
County Courthouse
215 N Main Street Suite 213
Waynesville, NC 28786

Birth
Death
Divorce
Marriages

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

Blogs

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Haywood County, North Carolina. Page 509 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 16:15.
  • This page has been accessed 17,872 times.