Headley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Headley

Guide to Headley, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Headley, Hampshire
Headley All Saints Hampshire.jpg
Headley All Saints Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pre-1834 - Bishop's Sutton; Post-1833 - Alton
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Headley Incorporation PLU
Registration District Farnborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; For more records see Woodlands
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HEADLEY (All Saints), a parish, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Bishop's Sutton, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6½ miles (S. by W.) from Farnham.[1].


For details of the civil parish see Headley East Hampshire Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1846-1869 see Farnborough registration district

Church records

Headley, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
HEADLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1540-1875
1539-1876

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Headley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288790.

See Hampshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Poor Law Unions

Headley Gilbert Union, Hampshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 456-459. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,733 times.